Jewel on Legs

in #photography7 years ago

Big at 32mm (1.3") and brightly coloured, it looks bit too exotic for The Netherlands yet it is native here and, wait for it: it was crossing the road:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 195mm, ISO800, f5.6, 1/25s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO800, f5.6, 1/20s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO800, f5.6, 1/20s

It's a Carabus auronitens, goudglanzende schallebijter in Dutch.

It is closely related to the first bug in this post, and I couldn't find an English name for this one either; please let me know if it has one if you know or can find it.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Hello Friend @ocrdu! As always, your photos are creative and very professional! Thank you for sharing!

Great photo! I agree that it looks really exotic! I always get really excited when I come across brightly-colored beetles, since most are so dull colored. However, I bet it must be pretty difficult to spot despite the bright colors, it seems to blend very nice with the grass.

Thanks. First time I ever saw one of these, and I get about a lot. I only wish they would stand still in better light more often, but I still don't know how to train them 8-).

Oh, they must be really rare then! I did a Google search for them in Norwegian earlier today when I saw your post, and apparently people are debating if we even have them in Norway and Sweden, or not. Apparently they're so rare that we don't even know if we have them ;)

What a beautiful creature. How interesting that the small bugs are like as you said - Jewels!

Very good macro shots and Your model is so beautiful :)

That is really a beautiful bug. I didnt think ill ever say that!

Nice pictures. @ocrdu
following you now.
follow me back pls. :D

Thank you.

Around these parts it's known as an OBB. One Big Bug. That's about all I know at this moment of the middle of the night.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82