Whychus Creek Trail Hike

in #photography5 years ago

Happy HF21 to all and here is to hoping we can all find our way under the new system! :)

Here is a little hike I took a couple years ago along Whychus Creek near where I live. My destination was a little unnamed waterfall about 1.5 miles from the trail head. At least if they have a name I was unable to find it. :)

Click images for larger view


The first couple shots are of the creek as it winds through the lava cliffs and pine forest. I love the contrast of colors.


Here you get a glimpse of the snow capped North Sister where some of the water in the creek drains from.


A view from the waters edge.


So very relaxing and peaceful here. When I'm out hiking I always like to try to imagine myself aligning my vibrations with that of the nature around me. It helps me find my center.


A couple shots of the upper part of the falls partially blocked by a log jam.


Here are two shots of the lower part of the falls. There weren't really any clear shots of the falls from this side of the creek. I guess I could have tried to cross the creek on that one thin log, but I doubt the reward would have been worth the risk to my life. lol


And finally an old exposed root ball from a tree that fell over. I love the tangled randomness of the roots.

Click images for larger view

Photos taken by me with a Nikon D3300 and CPL filter with some Lightroom post processing.

Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

Sort:  

Happy hardfork to you, too. ;)

Nice pictures, again.

Thank you!

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Thank you!

Hi oldmans,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you! Always special to get a visit from the @curie community. :)

It looks like an ideal place for a walk. The water looks so clean and it's like it was calling - put your feet in here, it's refreshing :)

Great photos! They are bright, colorful and set in beautiful landscape :)

Thank you for sharing and happy walking!

While I didn't get my boots off and get my feet wet this day, you are right it would be refreshing. :)

You are welcome and thank you for stopping by. :)

Hello @oldmans .
Great post and the photos are wonderful.
The colors come alive when they enlarge and with a spectacular black background.
I really like them all, but my favorite is that of the roots.
of the old root ball.
Enlarge and zoom to 250%, capture details and extraordinary figures.
Thanks for a good job.
Thanks Curie for an amazing post.

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it. :) I've been thinking of manipulating the root ball photo like I did to some of my photos shown in this old post. Make it a little more of a piece of digital art. :) Thank you for stopping by!

WOW, from another world!
The root ball will look fantastic.
It's a nice way to have fun and brighten your eyes.
Happy life

these photos are really stunning, that root ball is something else, thanks for sharing these with us, the water sure does look inviting xx

Thank you @trucklifefamily! I'm looking at doing something a little more artsy with the root ball photo. I think there is more for me to create in that photo. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63