DECEMBER ROADRUNNER

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I had no idea that there were roadrunners in Arkansas when we moved here.


Besides things like ACME and coyotes, I guess I always associated roadrunners with the desert. Apparently, that is not the case. Along the road to our homestead, you can often see several roadrunners.

These incredible ground cuckoos can run at speeds of up to 20 mph. Many people appreciate having them around, due to the fact that their diet includes scorpions, tarantulas, and even snakes. Since they do not migrate, we can see them year round; hence this one in December.

Frequently, they don't really stop running until they are off in the distance. The rest of the time they just jump in the bushes or thicket and disappear. Finally, I tried to photograph one today. Unfortunately it was on the other side of a fence, and I was in a running vehicle. These birds are so beautiful that I wish my photography did them better justice. Hopefully, you can still appreciate it.

WILD PHOTOGRAPHY: DECEMBER ROADRUNNER

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-roadrunner



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Sangat bagus posting anda.. Senang membacanya. Lanjutkan karya anda. Semoga Sukses selalu.

Really cool and just a piece of advice I would not by acme equipment.

But I just got my new catalog in the mail today:

Under the category of ACME psychologists, it says, "Visit us. You won't leave mad."

I had a similar experience:

I had no idea there were hummingbirds in British Columbia when I moved there



Rufous Hummingbird

In French hummingbirds are called "oiseaux-mouches" (fly birds).

For me hummingbirds were only living in tropical areas. I learned otherwise when I moved to Vancouver.

Interesting! Very cool to see those around!

Really cool and just a piece of advice I would not buy any ACME equipment.

I laugh to myself whenever I pass Acme Brick down here in Little Rock. I guess being childish after watching those cartoons for years.

great capture! I really love nature photos!

My parents lived in Mountain View, Arkansas for some 20 years. The breakfast nook in their house faced the porch, with a one-way glass window.

Every morning, a roadrunner would come hopping up the steps, see his reflection in the mirror-like surface and do a sort of courtship dance.

Occasionally, he would leave a gift: a dead snake, a spider and the like: a live show while my Mom and Dad were enjoying their breakfast!

Thanks for the reminder! Resteemed!

Lovely post
Thanks for sharing
As always great content
By the way finally I became a small dolphin

Big congratulations! Glad to hear it @lordoftruth!

Many people appreciate having them around, due to the fact that their diet includes scorpions, tarantulas, and even snakes.

This made me paused. I greatly fear those creatures mentioned above especially the tarantula (err! just typing it is giving me a creep!), if that is the case then I'd love them to be around too so that there wouldn't be any spiders and snakes and scorpions near me!!! whew. thanks for sharing @papa-pepper 😊

These little guys? We have them here too, and scorpions!

This one is glowing in a UV light.

oh noooo! i could look at this scorpion but not at the spider. 😫you dont know how fast I scrolled down just to skip the photo of the spider hahaha this is really giving me chills down to my spine

He is very interesting. I have never seen this bird. You are very happy because he is always present in that place. Can he fly, or just run at high speed? Thanks for sharing @papa-pepper.

We have seen them fly a bit too.

I thought Road runners were in the West only. They sure are beautiful birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69