Abstract photography: unusual decoration of Lago Martianez, Tenerife

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Notice: if you joined my animal photography quiz yesterday, check out the post for the correct answer and other photos of the animal ;)

I somehow missed the last #fototema (photo theme) by @tazi that was "mobile phone photography" (although all of my photos are taken with a mobile phone actually :D) but I am not going to miss out on the current one - the abstract photography.

When searching for an entry for this theme, I quickly realized I did not actually have much material to choose from but I still picked two shots that I believe can be classified as abstract.

IMG_20161001_153949.jpg

IMG_20161001_171731.jpg

Both of them were taken at Lago Martianez, a gigantic open air swimming pool complex and amusement park found in the picturesque coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz in northern Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain.

Designed by the renowned Canarian architect Cesar Manrique, the complex is a unique mix of local natural elements such as rocks and volcanic cliffs with modern architecture and interesting sculptures.

For a better perspective of what the complex looks like, I am adding another shot of one of the artificial lakes.

IMG_20161001_150755.jpg

Lago Martianez was built right on the coast and there is just a little stone wall between the complex and the ocean, which comes with some stunning ocean views but also unexpected showers when the waves get too big :)

With an admission fee of some 6 USD per person per day, it surely is a place not to miss when in Tenerife.

Czech / Česky

První dvě fotky jsou mým příspěvkem do nového @tazi ´ho #fototema ´tu. Obě byly pořízeny v zábavním komplexu Lago Martianez v městečku Puerto de la Cruz na severu Tenerife. Snad jsou dostatečně abstraktní :)

Jinak pro ty z vás, kteří jste se včera zapojili do mého kvízu - už máme vítěze, takže se můžete podívat, o jaké podivné zvířátko se jednalo ;) Díky všem za účast.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

I have been to Tenerife a few times, but never to this place (except for driving trough it to get to Loro Parque when I was a child). That artificial lake seems like a great place to go for a swim without having to worry about all the waves.

although all of my photos are taken with a mobile phone actually

What, really? I have always assumed that you used a DSLR camera. I'm even more impressed by all the good shots you take now that I know this!

It is a nice walk from Lago Martianez to Loro Parque (but I don´t recommend people to visit Loro Parque for reasons you surely understand ;)

To be honest with you, I even had to just google what a DSLR camera is - I am a complete photography beginner (yer very enthusiastic :D) who never owned a real camera. I have been only using mobile phones and it was not until recently that I - at least - got one with a decent camera. I edit all my photos in a photo editor though. But thanks for these words, it always makes me happy when it comes from what I call a real photographer :)

Hmm abstract is actually indeed hard to describe. What is and what is not. There could be made an argument that ur pics are but also that they're not :D

And 6 usd ain't bad for such cool pools/art. lakes :)

Right. As they say, beauty (or abstraction for that matter :D) is in the eye of the beholder. Let´s see what the photo boss @tazi will have to say about those :)

Ha ha, "photo boss"... ;)
The concept of abstract is very abstract ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=abstract-photography-unusual-decoration-of-lago-martianez-tenerife


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98