Street Photography: Casa Mila, one of Gaudi´s iconic buildings in Barcelona

in #photography6 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Through my entry for today´s #streetphotography contest hosted by @juliank, I would like to introduce you to one of the most famous buildings in Barcelona, the legendary Casa Mila.

IMG_20160412_110436.jpg

Click on the image for full view

Also known as La Pedrera (meaning "The Quarry"), Casa Mila is an impressive building complex that was completed in 1912. Found in the center of Barcelona, this architectural jewel is one of the masterpieces of the renowned Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi, the author of the world-famous church La Sagrada Familia that is located just a few kilometers away.

Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1984, the buildings is notable for a number of unusual architectural features such as twisting wrought iron balconies and self-supporting stone facade.

Because of its extraordinary appearance, this iconic building has been very popular with tourists and it has even been featured in several movies and books.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Thanks Jonas! :)

Thank you for interesting information and
detailed description of the photo, @phortun

I love work Antoni Gaudí.
This house is notable for being the last secular work of Gaudi before the architect fully devoted himself to work on the Sagrada Familia temple.

Thank you @singa! I love Gaudi´s work too. He was a true genius :)

I have been to Barcelona before. But I didn't visit this building. Your post reminds me of Barcelona. I hope to visit Spain again.

Thanks for stopping by, Barcelona is sweet! :)

Great photograph! I haven't made it to Barcelona yet, but I really want to go!

Beautiful photography I love it

I don't remember Casa Mila as being cream coloured @phortun. I'm going to have to find my old photographs.

I like the angle of your photograph. It works really well. I remember finding it difficult to get the whole building into one shot and I'm pretty sure I didn't manage it. 😊

I wonder what color was the building in your photos :) Feel free to put them here if you find them :)

I did post about it when I first joined Steemit so I'll look it out and repost I think as no-one was following me much then. 😊

Haha I know what you mean... happened to me too :) (just like to most other Steemians I guess). Posting interesting things when nobody was following me yet :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-photography-casa-mila-one-of-gaudi-s-iconic-buildings-in-barcelona


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a Beautiful photography

Waooo,,, amazing

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-17T09:24:33
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2003.06/3200.00
Total Photos: 198
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58