You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A good start for my day!

Hi @zestforlife :) I've actually have never herd of Flat White in the west. They both look like a what they call Cafe latte in Trieste, but "cappuccino" in the rest of Italy and the rest of the world I've gotten it. I remember one time ordering a cappuccino in Trieste and they brought out what Italian's call "Cafe latte", which is a small single espresso coffee with some whipped milk on top. It's like a mini cappuccino. LOL... I thought the guy was joking with me at first.

When I thought about it, any word in Italian that ends with an "ino" or the female version "ina" means small and the root word "cappuccio" means like a hood, head covering. So it would mean a little hood or head covering... So in a way they were right in Trieste. So I just did a bit of research and discovered something really interesting.

It is believed the capuchin friar, Marco d'Aviano, was the inspiration for the cappuccino that has its name not from the hood but from the color of the hooded robes worn by monks and nuns of the Capuchin order. So that would mean it's origin is only a few miles from me. I'll bet no one even knows that here.

Anyway, thanks for this post, @zestforlife, which took me on an interesting research journey.

Sort:  

@positivesynergy that itself is a post on its own, you never cease to fascinate me. That's an interesting sharing you have here and to know the history of it is mind blowing.
There is always that first experience when we're in a foreign country and learn the culture which is why I love going to places. Perhaps if I were to visit Italy, I would order "cappuccio" or macchiato (which I normally order in Starbucks) or Duppio with latte...lol. I did dream of going to Italy for its coffee and have it served in a wine or martini glass.

Cool dream, @zestforlife... :) I always love your true "zest for life"! The Venetians use the word "cappuccio" as their dialect for Cappuccino. So you'd fit with in with that. Although, I'm not sure a wine or martini glass could handle the hot beverage.

That comment of mine is actually a short one compared to some I've done here in steemit. I've had others tell my they were 2 or 3 post in one comment. LOL I just love to research, especially when I discover something interesting like that. Wishing you an awesome SUNday, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89