A good start for my day!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

2017-08-11 18.47.34.jpg

What an amazing feeling to wake up with the smell of freshly ground coffee beans in the morning... I always start my day with a cup of flat white but most of the time familiar conversations like this is usually the case;

Friend 1: What coffee can I get you ladies?
Friend 2: Cafe latte please!
Friend 3: Flat white for me please!

Friend 1: Aren't they the same thing?

Cafe latte used to be my favourite drink but I find it to be more milky than the former. The yumminess of velvety texture smoothness of the milk foam with the coffee is pure bliss. I prefer less acidity and a tad bitter taste on my coffee and I never put sugar on my coffee. I wonder how would a double shot espresso would taste like in my flat white? Perhaps I could try that the next round...lol

IMG_20180512_091040_268.jpg

I am intrigue where it came from and who came out with the amazing concoction;

There is a lot of dispute over whether the flat white originated in Australia or New Zealand, but Al Keating from New Zealand's Coffee Supreme assures me it was a Kiwi thing. "The creator of the Flat White is commonly known in New Zealand to be none other than Derek Townsend.


I am blessed to be in the land where coffee culture is at its best and I don't see Starbucks every corner of the street..yay!

This is my entry for @juliank's photo contest on #smartphonephotography. Photo was taken using Samsung Alpha (G850F)

Sort:  

Hi @zestforlife :) I've actually have never herd of Flat White in the west. They both look like a what they call Cafe latte in Trieste, but "cappuccino" in the rest of Italy and the rest of the world I've gotten it. I remember one time ordering a cappuccino in Trieste and they brought out what Italian's call "Cafe latte", which is a small single espresso coffee with some whipped milk on top. It's like a mini cappuccino. LOL... I thought the guy was joking with me at first.

When I thought about it, any word in Italian that ends with an "ino" or the female version "ina" means small and the root word "cappuccio" means like a hood, head covering. So it would mean a little hood or head covering... So in a way they were right in Trieste. So I just did a bit of research and discovered something really interesting.

It is believed the capuchin friar, Marco d'Aviano, was the inspiration for the cappuccino that has its name not from the hood but from the color of the hooded robes worn by monks and nuns of the Capuchin order. So that would mean it's origin is only a few miles from me. I'll bet no one even knows that here.

Anyway, thanks for this post, @zestforlife, which took me on an interesting research journey.

@positivesynergy that itself is a post on its own, you never cease to fascinate me. That's an interesting sharing you have here and to know the history of it is mind blowing.
There is always that first experience when we're in a foreign country and learn the culture which is why I love going to places. Perhaps if I were to visit Italy, I would order "cappuccio" or macchiato (which I normally order in Starbucks) or Duppio with latte...lol. I did dream of going to Italy for its coffee and have it served in a wine or martini glass.

Cool dream, @zestforlife... :) I always love your true "zest for life"! The Venetians use the word "cappuccio" as their dialect for Cappuccino. So you'd fit with in with that. Although, I'm not sure a wine or martini glass could handle the hot beverage.

That comment of mine is actually a short one compared to some I've done here in steemit. I've had others tell my they were 2 or 3 post in one comment. LOL I just love to research, especially when I discover something interesting like that. Wishing you an awesome SUNday, my friend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zestforlife from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

I have to admit I used to be lured by Starbucks. However, when you go to a place where you are only buying its name, it's not worth it. There are other local shops who serves the same thing and half the price than what other commercialized shops serve. Not only are you supporting local produce but you are also saving your pockets lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94