You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [PHOTO] Through a dirty train window #29

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

One of my fav things about the train ride down to London, when I used to go more often was the ever-changing graffiti walls.

I had a good friend from university who recently passed away called Alex, who was an excellent London graffiti artist. He was the real deal. He'd been to jail for his art and also is the only person I've ever met who knows Banksy. Ha ha, well that is what he used to tell us anyway, but I believed him.

https://www.newsshopper.co.uk/news/2392522.graffiti-gang-members-jailed/

He can be seen in this article at the top right of the group mug-shot looking pretty cheesed off. What is mad to me is that I've seen his work and it is 100% art, but he got jailed at such an early age for it. I suppose it is a question of perspective but for me it really is not justice, especially now he's passed away all I can think about is how he lost a year of his life for what amounts to putting paint on trains.

He also spent most of the last decade on a youth project helping innner city London kids channel their energy into creativity.

https://hattydaze.wordpress.com/2014/11/08/paint-my-panda-murals-in-peckham/

ha ha, but I've gone off on one telling you a story. You're pic reminded me of London and my friend, Rosa. Thanks for sharing :)

P.s. if ya like graffiti I've just found his page where some of his art is displayed: https://publicinsta.com/hashtag/powerizm

Sort:  

Ohhh - but don't say sorry, I like your story! There's so much creativity to be found in graffiti and it's often overlooked or looked down on. I especially love what he did with the London Kids - there's a lot of value to create art with kids, let alone if they can show it off to all their friends like that :D Super cool - I appreciate you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89