Leaving it all late

in #photography6 years ago

Ah, damn. I hate this time of year...

Wife's birthday, Engagement anniversary and Mother's Day all within 2 weeks of each other. And, with the washout that was the first two because of her food poisoning episode, the last takes added weight this year. And of course, I am yet to organize a present of any kind. At what age can you give children some money and say "Work it out yourself."?

I am not great at the best of times with these things as I find them all quite pointless. I buy gifts for people when I find something that I think they will like, I don't need a day to tell me when I should treat people I care about. But, social conventions and even though my wife doesn't care so much about all of these things, I know she still appreciates something. I just don't know what that something is going to be. Last year it was a framed painting made of our daughters footprints in pink water colors which is hanging in the baby room now as well as a necklace with two hearts on the pendant.

I think this year it should be something a little different. I also don't really like buying useless things but, we live pretty simply and have most of what we need to survive day to day. I don't like the idea of senseless consumerism and consumption but, that is essentially what all of these days are designed for. What happened to a simple breakfast in bed and a card?

The other problem is that I would prefer to make something for her but, the way our house and life operates means that there is no time or space to create anything, let alone do it in secret. Buying something is so impersonal and cold for a Mother's day gift I think yet, that is the option I now have available. First world problems I know.

The worst thing is that she has already booked a table for us at a little Sushi restaurant for Sunday knowing that I will probably not make too much fuss over these things. Well, at least she knows me.

These photos were taken yesterday in the garden and although the blue ones have been flowering for a couple of weeks already, the white ones come a few days before Mother's day. I think they are nature's reminder for forgetful and unprepared fathers.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I have nearly the same problem, 5/4, then mothers day, 5/19, then 6/3

Those dates cover my Wife's birthday, the day we met, got married and in no order. She turns 40 this year so sending her off to Hawaii to celebrate with her Mom, Sisters, and Aunt for a girls trip. This year was easy, it's all wrapped into a 2 week vacation. But normally it's a pain covering all of those things in a short time.

As for the kids, I'd say by 1st grade both my girls were figuring out gift on their own. They actually earn their own money too! But for the most part both love to draw or create something and my Wife loves that.

As for the kids, I'd say by 1st grade both my girls were figuring out gift on their own.

I was hoping 3 at most.. ;)

I think next year we might have a chance to travel for a weekend so I will roll them altogether hopefully then. Doesn't help me now though.

The best gifts are those given as random surprises. The other best gifts are just being there on special occasions. When you are loved by someone, all gifts are the best ones!

I like the random surprise types as I appreciate them more as there isn't the feeling that it was bought on obligation.

I was traveling once, headed home, and decided to drive through instead of spending another night on the road. I called ahead and told my Significant Other I would be home around three AM. When I arrived at 3:15, the lights were on, she was up, makeup on, dressed in a summer dress, and breakfast was on the table waiting for me.

That was the best gift I ever had and I remember it every morning when I eat breakfast.

Bloody right you are sir. I hate knowing what's coming, really spoils it.

I just love to read your post, i don't know why maybe its because of the simplicity aura all around you, and it reflects in everything you do like i said, even in your writings.. Do what you gotta buddy and have fun, don't be late for that sushi on sunday..cheers

I think I have a bad memory with dates especially dates of special days like the ones you mentioned. It is not that I don't care, I just don't remember.
I had to mark my father and elder sister's birthday date on a calender before I could remember. At the end I remembered my father's and forgot my sister's.


I agree with you that we don't need a special reason to buy gifts for the people we love. It should be routine, spontaneous.


I guess you have the last special day to do a combine gift giving and celebration for the two days missed.
Fathers are mostly unprepared I think, but they work hard at catching up and sometimes they catch up.

Let's see how it goes. I am terrible with dates, names, faces... people...

At what age can you give children some money and say "Work it out yourself."?

At age 1. :D

For me buying presents for children is almost always fun, but buying presents for adults is almost always terrible. I also hate buying a present if I have to, but like buying presents if I just happen to stumble upon something I know the person would appreciate. Even if there's no occasion.

Nowadays I usually buy gift cards to different places where you can only experience things, not buy stuff. The other choice is Star Wars Legos. :)

I also hate buying a present if I have to, but like buying presents if I just happen to stumble upon something I know the person would appreciate. Even if there's no occasion.

This is what i prefer. I buy her stuff often enough. Perhaps I should stop giving them to her straight away :)

If you are good keeper of secrets, then yes.

Otherwise, forget about it. Pure agony knowing something fun is waiting in the closet / drawer. Hidden. Pure agony I say. And if it isn't, it just means that you forgot it and no-one knows how many years pass by until you remember it again or find it and think "why the heck did I buy my self a pellet working toy steam machine?".

Just saying. Not that this has ever happened to me.

Hahahahaha, yes we don't have it easy with these things. I appreciate the sticky corner you're in. Well for starters I think keep her away from dodgy food, she will really appreciate that. Just do the best you can in the situation you're in.

What does she do for a hobby?

Love the photo's, great detail capture.

What does she do for a hobby?

No hobbies at the moment, long story though.

well for starters I think keep her away from dodgy food

She booked the table so my hands are clean... hopefully the chef's are too

At least you will stay in the clear with that one this time. An appliance maybe, hahahahaha no don't do that. Something simple and personal and a handpicked bunch of wild flowers could do it.

I smiled with recognition reading this, @Tarazkp, as one who forgets their wedding anniversary, regularly. (In my defense, we have 3: civil, when we eloped, religious, to appease the girl, and party, when we announced it to friends & fam).

But, like you, I’m lucky my wife is understanding & doesn’t put too much emphasis on such things. Best gift is to be kind and considerate all year & maybe a little extra on Special Daze 💝

6FC8CDCD-E422-4DA8-9ECB-476A41AB0EAF.jpeg

This is the problem with being kind and considerate - as being less so most of the time makes the special daze a highlight...

True, that :) Whatever the case, don’t stress — as that’s the last thing she would want 🙏🏼

How about a romantic poem on a card. Presents are not straight forward. I have cocked up so many in the past I will not give you advice. For me it is the thought that counts and if you don't want it then I am done. I don't do mothers day and I don't do valentines day. I have made it easy for everyone. Birthday and Christmas. Every day should be special so why make an extra fuss and have to spend loads of money. I don't mind a dinner treat etc but that is it.

How about a romantic poem on a card.

Where the hell will I get one of those?? :D

Haha. You are funny. Go and have a drink or two and you never know. Just maybe you will find enough talent to impress her. Actually maybe not.

I think they are nature's reminder for forgetful and unprepared fathers.

haha i absolutely doubt this is why

Wife's birthday, Engagement anniversary and Mother's Day all within 2 weeks of each other

That is like a celebration marathon lol, i wish you all the best my man

I buy gifts for people when I find something that I think they will like, i don't need a day to tell me when I should treat people I care about.

I mean, this is how it should be. Im not even a birthday kind of person, i dont need a day to tell me when to appreciate life of the people i care about

I will suggest you take her out to a very nice location, our lives are made of memories, if you can make one in a new place, just a little different activity from the usual, it might just be fun with a lot of pictures

haha i absolutely doubt this is why

Nature is Wily.

I will suggest you take her out to a very nice location, our lives are made of memories, if you can make one in a new place, just a little different activity from the usual, it might just be fun with a lot of pictures

This is the plan... kinda but now, Daughter is sick :/ Endless.

Depends where you are I guess? My sister and I always ended up making stupid things at school for mother and father's days, think the only thing that got kept was this plaster block that I made when I was in primary school, which I painted black and scratched out a picture of a lion face in for one Father's Day. If you were in a small town/relatively safe area and you had responsible kids maybe 10-12? Where I live I wouldn't be able to let mine go to the useful shops on their own as they have to cross a major road and they are short and some people in our area are fully convinced they're rally drivers.

I'm an awful, awful child as I generally forget til my sibling yells WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO FOR MOTHER'S/FATHER'S DAY?! at me and I remind them that our parents are at that stage of life where whatever they want they can get, much more than we can. So usually I just call and have a chat (because we live 4hrs flight away from each other).

Good luck with your sorting stuff out, I should probably start thinking harder about that too XD

goatsig

relatively safe area and you had responsible kids maybe 10-12?

Damn.

people in our area are fully convinced they're rally drivers.

This is Finland, many are.. ;)

We are not big gift celebrators in my family but it is different with many people here. I would prefer a nice meal over an obligated gift.

Oh right Finland, forgot, maybe 7-8 should be okay then XD

Yeh I'm the same.

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43