You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honoring a bygone era w/ Ally in Los Angeles!

in #photography5 years ago

Productivity is the most important ingredient in the formula for keeping depression away

Many can't be productive unless they are in "the mood" but I find that the mood, whatever it is, is actually a source of creativity. Perhaps there is a reason that so many artists are depressive types?

My fave from these is the last shot as her expression tells a story in itself.

Sort:  

Yes! When I'm depressed I can't move too. I mostly depend on that mood. I do agree with him though, but for me, being productive is acknowledging that depression and using that to be able to create a strong piece of art.. which somehow drives it away because you got that feeling of satisfaction after being productive.

I have read in a research that creatives are more likely to be depressed because they are highly sensitive ones.. they see experiences in a different perspective.

I do feel depression set in from time to time, and when I do, I acknowledge and know how to address it. It's exactly like you said, @hiddenblade. It's taken me almost 40 years to have the awareness to see the signs, and consequently, know how to keep it at bay, but it's almost always art related. Feeling depressed initially, does make me feel like I don't want to create anything, but forcing myself to start, there's typically a moment where I write something or draw something that sparks the cure. I just need to get excited about something, then it makes me run away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89