You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Capturing the Light

in #photography5 years ago

As always a great post ;)
I do miss running but the injuries i did to my knees when I was about 18 and then in my twenties, really come back and haunt me these days, and i just cannot run, but I do maybe whatis the next best thing and like getting out for morning walks to start the day
I do miss running even though its probably 10 years since i last did a real run, but one just has to do what one can do

Sort:  

We all get to the point of doing in our knees, I think, although, I feel luckier than most that mine are and always have been fine. I do believe in genes in this case. I know so many that have a tendency towards knee problems, which isn't the case with my family. Nine kids and everyone is a runner with good knees.

Although perhaps I don't need to jinx it!

You may not run, but, you put some serious miles in! Which is what I did when I was recovering from the broken distal fibula. I found that I enjoyed walking almost as much as running and in some ways more because I could stop and note where I was to come back and take a picture or snap one off on my cell phone. So, it really was a beneficial time in many ways.

Sometimes when we allow the choices that have been made for us to happen, life is so much better. I hope you are having a most wonderful day!

!tip

Yes I do walk a lot it’s not surprising I feel it in my knees now I smashed bit kneecaps badly at 19 and was told I would need surgery and may never be able to run again during my basic training I snuck out 3 days later and did the Battle Fitness test a 10 mile run march with full kit and then an obstacle course passed the test but probably messed up my knees more and was carried back to the hospital as once I finished and sat down I could not stand back up

Never did the surgery but built myself up and did probably 10 more marathons and 3 triathlons before getting married and having kids slowed me down I loved bed running from about 14 I used to run on average 10 to 15 miles every day and during off season of Rugby and Soccer I used to do one long run on weekends of about 4 hours but never tracked how far it was.

and now my knees just won’t let me run anymore 😂
Yes walking is good for stopping and seeing the sights of course

Dude!! You were impressive. Fact is, you still are, but, holy guacamole! Way back when? You were unstoppable. Although, somebody should have!

Oh, wait! They did try that and it didn't work. Sometimes you hardheads just do more to prove that you can. Well, you did, in fact! LOL I am amazed that you still carried on after all of that and that you never were forced to get the knee surgery, (I say forced as in your body didn't break down to the point of walk or no walk)

Oh, I bow down to those knees! They have endured more than a mere mortal should ever be able to contend with!

Walking is good for stopping and seeing the sights! Yes!

For the most part my knees are kind to me if I am kind to them and these days I am good to them
I don’t know what drove me to run back then I know initially it was training for Rugby but even when I stopped playing I kept running I know I thought running was ok just for exercise since no one tackles runners
Sure they needed ice after a long run but we needed ice anyway to keep the beer cool 😎

The only time I feel my knees fir the most part is I I get down on my knees to get a low shot for a photo some days getting back up is tough but I manage

Oh, yes!!! That is a hard one! I have seen many photographers barely crawling up and believe it or not, half your age. Not that you are old or anything.... Looks innocently away

Oh, don't you sound just like a typical man. I need ice to keep the beer cool. Aha! Yes. That!

I am glad that your knees are still good to you and just know that there are things that you avoid doing to not irritate them. :)

I hope you have hopped the train already and headed East!

Yes on the train now been so busy this week lunches have been short so sneaking out to catch the 4pm train 🚂 so in Ct already and nit to many stops till home 🏡

Do you get more than 20 minutes? Oh, I want your job!!!

thats about the time i spend for lunch most days, not that I have to just because I am not one for long lunches , I sometimes go for a walk after lunch but always way less than an hur

Ohh and I forgot Of course your weren’t saying I’m old just like a good wine I am well matured lol

Yes!!! The early train isn't as slow! Good for you!! Sneaking out! Oh, thief!!!

Oh, never too old unless you turned to vinegar! LOL

LOL Yeah I was in early well I am always in early do I do not feel bad sneaking out early these days

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Capturing The Light Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63861.47
ETH 3215.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84