Water fountain and the effect of shutter speed

in #photomag5 years ago

Water fountain and the effect of shutter speed

When I took some shots of a fountain not too far from my office i thought it was a good opportunity to show the effect changing Shutter speed can have when taking photos in this case with moving water.

1 Shutter Speed-1.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F14 6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



There are three main setting when taking a photo, Aperture, which is basically how much light the lens lets onto the sensor or film of the camera, ISO which in film days was the speed of the film or how quick it reacts to light and what I will talk about more in this post shutter speed.

In simple terms it is how long the shutter is open for and lets light into the camera sensor and by using different times of open shutter it can give quite different effects and in this case i will show you the effect it can have on water with just a simple subject like this fountain.

For this shot I took a 6 second exposure which you really need a tripod or hand shake when you take the photo will make everything blurry, and as you can see here it blurs the motion of the water and makes it look kind of silky.

1 Shutter Speed-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F10 1/30 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger



This secodn shot is with a faster shutter speed wher eit was only open for half a second and you can see the water a bit more clearly and a few drops with a littl emotion.

1 Shutter Speed-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F5 1/100 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger



And finally this shot with a shutter speed on 1/100 of a second where the wate ris a lot more clear and you can even see a few drops clearly.

These are not really good example shots but the best I had at the moment and I hope it helps explain how shutter speed can be used to change the effect you can get when taking a photo


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.752457 lat -73.970388 long C2nd Ave and 46th Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Very nice photos! The shutter speed really makes a big difference!

I was just caught by the background! It looks like it is on fire!

Thanks kindly I had to look again at the backhand I hadn’t noticed but I do see what you mean now that I look again
Have a great day day

Great example! That's a really graphic view of the difference shutterspeed can make in a photo.

For the record, the ND filter is the one that I carry with me all the time. In bright sunlight (and it's always bright here) I generally have it on. If nothing else, it is cheap lens protection.

Yes, I read the comments. Why would you ask? :)

I had a couple of them for my lenses when I was shooting Pentax, just never got around ot them with the Sony Gear, but NOw that I got one over Christmas I will start carrying it with me and using it a lot more, That said In the city I seldom need it and thats where i have bene taking most of my photos of recent as its always in shadow with all the tall buildings

I've tried to play with shots like this before myself, but I have never been able to get them just right. I can only imagine how hard this was back in the day when you couldn't see instant results. My dad has several shots where he either really knew what he was doing or got lucky because they turned out fantastic when he developed them!

I suspect he really knew what he was doing, I remember back with film when I first started photography the wait to see if you got the shot right waiting to develop the film, so different fromthe instant awaremness with digital

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 365 (01/08/19)

thanks so much for the support

I love water photos, you did a good job with these, kudos!

Thanks kindly I to love water photos they are the favorite photos I take

Nice comparison post, and a good subject to demonstrate on. Long exposures are a lot of fun, especially where water is concerned, though a tripod is definitely a must.

I was hoping for a variable ND filter for Christmas, so that I could do longer exposures in direct sunlight but, alas, no such luck.

Ohh yes I to love doing long exposures I did get a cheaper ND filter for christmas from my Secret Santa, Havent had a chance to try it out yet but hopefully soon, I love the feel you can get with a photo doing long exposures

would've made a nice gif😄

I never thought of that but it is something I should think about doing with some shots sometime
Have a great day

I will be honest, I didn't get all that photography speak
But the pictures... I like very much
All three are amazing :D

Thanks for the feedback that what I was interested to know and will take it onboard if I do other tutorials

I am sure those who want to learn how to enhance their skills appreciate it
And So many are into photography
My brother is and so is my son.
Me, I just like looking and admiring the great shots 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s cool thing about the steemit community such a variety of interests and styles something of interest for everyone 👍😎

A lovely fountain and a good explanation with the photos.

Thanks I wasnt sure about doing a post like this as I am not that confident with the way I explain things and hope it makes sense so thanks for the feedback

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94