Old Coal Mining Village - England, UK - Tuesday Scapes...

I live in a small mining village in the UK. Many of the small mining villages have similar old houses that were built specifically for the miners and their families and are built very close together as terraced housing.

This image is typical of what you will see in an ex-mining village in the UK when you look at the original houses.

Click the image for the full screen version...
miners housing .jpg

This is my entry to the Photochallenge 'Tuesday Scapes' Contest.

I hope you like it!

Thank you for stopping by.

Much love, Cheryl xx

BTS address: bb-bulldogs


A huge thank you to @zord189 for my bouncing bullies signature!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Phototalent banner.jpg

Sort:  

Taking a break from being a Drug Overlord? :D Maybe you can buy this neighbourhood once you have got your drug money :P

A real person upvoted you ..great comment lol
!tip

Haha yep, I am ready to push the button @rebeccabe. I can keep my head high and say that in the year I was on steem I never paid for any bid bots and earned 1000 Steem. Boom 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

You have done well.

nice touch with post production... it gives it a sense of history!

Squeeze people in so close together...almost look like military barracks.

Yes they were packed like sardines! They are surprisingly spacious once inside.

hey bb
https://steemit.com/spl/@four20/spl-pokerpups-great-job
wasn't sure if you follow me or not, but thought I would share my post

Hi @four20 We really did well this week! Go Pups! :D
Congrats on 2nd place, you deserved 1st ;)

Detail in black and white photography turned out amazing.

At least these mining village houses had a small back garden @beautifulbullies

Thank you! Yes they gave them quite long gardens, enough land to be able to grow some vegetables for their families.

Tuesday scapes I didnt know this was a contest! Who initiated it ? Well I think you got a winner 😉

It is run by photochallenge on whaleshares. I just copied it over to steemit too so people could see the image 😊

I love that you went with Mono, it gives such a timeless feel to this image

Yes, I wanted to make show the age of the housing and it didn't feel old enough in colour haha

And you did it so well :)

Your photo made these dense houses look charming! Nice touch!

That is not unlike the mining communities in the US. I come from a family of miners in the Eastern Ohio, Virginia area. One of my favorite photos of my grandfather shows him sitting at the kitchen table, covered in black coal just after he came home from work. Of course he only learned later of the negative effects of all that coal dust.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

I also come from a family of miners. My Grandad (who is now 93) was a coal miner and so was my great Grandad. My Grandad still has coal dust on his lungs today, but it hasn't stopped him luckily! :)

We came across a place in Texas that was a mining town created specifically for the miners and their families. They had their own currency even that they were paid with so they could only spend it in the specific town. There is a smoke stack and little bit of a downtown left but not much else.

Nice photo, btw. Nicely done to give a feel of history!
Ren

Thank you! I love to see old pictures and it felt right to do this one with this edit to tell the story a little better :) Glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99