Swarthy Denizens of #piratesunday ,International "Talk like a Pirate" Day is coming Sept 19th!

As I Convalesce in my recovery I find it incumbent upon me to remind those involved in #piratesunday #ssg-community and the #steemsilvergold of a special occasion worthy of yea attention.

I’d curse meself if I didn’t remind yea this upon that on thee yaar of arrrh Lord 2018, thee 19th day in September is “International Talk like a Pirate Day” Thee concept is simple enough even t' landlubbers of all types. Thy following links are a wee little background to thee madness. Yea may even find it appropriate to wear somethin piratey too.

Awareness Days Website

TimeandDate.com

Pirate Language from the website A Pirate’s Lexicon

Pirate Glossary

Of course armed wit thee appropriate Pirate vernacular we kin further embellish it wit cultural aspects by adding a wee bit o’ Scottish or Irish. Meself, I’d add 17th Century English, sprinkled with some Shakespearean language, toss in a Latin phrase or two t’sound edumacated, and set it to the Pathos of Akira Kurosawa.

So here are a few terms from A Pirate’s Lexicon t'get yea started:

Arrrrh!: Aye or yes. A word made famous by Robert Newton in the 1950 production of Treasure Island. The word can be used as a verbal pause or to show excitement. (Think of it as universal "you know" or "alright!" in pirate lingo). This one is pure Hollywood.

Booty: Plunder, gain, or profit acquired in common and destined to be divided among the winners. That which is taken from an enemy in war; the collective plunder or spoil. That which is captured by robbers or thieves. The term dates from as far back as 1474.

Cutlass: A short sword with a flat wide slightly curved blade, adapted more for cutting than for thrusting; now esp. the sword with which sailors are armed. (as early as 1594).

Hornswoggle: To cheat or bamboozle

Jolly Roger: The pirate's flag. It had a black background and a symbol (usually white) symbolizing death. The jolly roger came into use about 1700.

Landlubber: A sailor's term for: A clumsy seaman; an unseamanlike fellow.

Scurvy Dog: A foul person. May sometimes be used as a left handed compliment.
Swashbuckler: Original meaning A swaggering bravo or ruffian; a noisy braggadocio (show-off). . The term dats from as early as 1560.

Wench: The word wench literally means young woman or girl.

Me Jolly Roger Broach
Pirate Jewelry crafted by Silver to Burn (Burnie) as Captain Elijah Stewart Burns
19 grams of 0.999 fine Silver

Now, yea bess be thinkin' forward a wee bit, an git practicin’ fer thee “Talk like a Pirate day” when September 19th comes about! An I means thee ‘ole lot of yea Scurvy dogs!

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”

Sort:  

facebook had that feature when it first started.you could click the pirate button an it would make your words 'piraty' ....that was a long time ago..

Great to see you Bonnie!
There are algorithms/apps that do 'translation' especially Piratease. I've found one that did Shakespearean English. Another in Jamaican patois. Anyway, rather than in mechanical cookie cutter translation I mix my Pirate talk with a bit of 17th century English, a bit of Shakespeare, wee bit of Irish or Scottish then deliver it the style of Akira Kurosawa's pathos.

be thinking might want to dust off the ol' Cutlass that day

🤣🤣🤣

Aye, an i be unfurling me Jolly Roger that fine day!

And fer some naughty pirate fun, i'd fly me big black bloomers wit me along side the Jolly Roger.

I have to remind myself that carrying a 40 inch Chinese War sword on the bus tend to make other commuters nervous.

@kerrislravenhill
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !!

Aye, yea be impressed as I took advantage of thy Dogecoin/Steem ratio goin up faster than me Prey's white flag. I've parlayed me voting power from STEEM dust to STEEM Dust x 2.

Landlubber was my favourite jeans brand end of the seventies before you were born.

Arrrh, these young bucks don' look like thee Seafarin type alright. Won' last a day aboard a real vessel.

Well shave me belly with a rusty razor! I be a pirate, so I really needs t' learn pirate natter, if it scuttles me.

Pssst, don spake to any soul but I'z give yea a pass if yea quote ANYTHING from thy following literary seaworthy epics;
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson ✓
The Old man and the Sea by Ernst Hemingway ✓
Moby Dick by Herman Melville ✓
Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Samuel Taylor Coleridge ✓
or 👉 Gilligan's Island 👈 😜 😉 🙃

Hmmmm... like this one?
Skipper: Gilligan, I can nah seem t' find a coconut that's big enough fer me
cap.
Gilligan: Ye should 'ave gone t' th' other side o' th' island 'n got a
jumbo-sized one.
Skipper: I don't reckon that's mighty funny.
Gilligan: All I mean be that ye're a big scallywag 'n got a big head...
Skipper: Gilligan?
Gilligan: 'n a big heart.
Skipper: Aye....well.....wha' be it that ye're doin'?
Gilligan: Makin' ye. (Stuffin' a life-sized manican o' th' Skipper)
Skipper: That's suppose t' be me?
Gilligan: Only th' bottom half.
Skipper: Come on Gilligan, I be nah this big!
Gilligan: Well Skipper, ye said t' make it life-like, remember?
Skipper: But I be nah that big Gilligan!
Gilligan: Sure ye be.
Skipper: I be nah!!!
Gilligan: Sure ye be.
Skipper: I be nah Gilligan!!!
Gilligan: Sure ye be.
Skipper: I be nah!!! (WHACK!)

When a coconut falls on a head, was that the sound of the coconut or the head?
or if a coconut falls in the jungle, does anyone hear it? ~ The Existential Philosophy of Gilligan's Island.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99