POCKET Genesis is now complete. Total supply: 1,222,001,222 Tokens.

in #pocket7 years ago


Total Supply update: 1,222 Genesis claims brings the total supply to 1,222,001,222 Pocket tokens. Here is a screenshot of a confirmer bot console of the "GENESIS DEACTIVATED" message from a couple hours ago:

Screenshot 2017-09-11 08.35.09.png

How fair is the distribution?

That's the most important question now. If one person owns 10% of the supply, that would be pretty unfortunate. I own about 5 Million pocket myself (accounts @biophil, @philipnbrown, @ozymandias, @gentlebot, and @thing-2 plus whatever dust is in @pocket-a), and I'm not the only one with multiple accounts who made several claims.

It looks like there were quite a few shill/sockpuppet claims in the last several hours; at some point I want to publish a good list of accounts so that people can try verifying the fairness of the distribution. I haven't done much to assess it myself, but there are several single accounts that have several million Pocket. Here is a list of the balances of the largest 20 accounts:

  1. @musclenerd: 4999993
  2. @flauwy: 3000998
  3. @chrisx: 3000395
  4. @justinashby: 2999998
  5. @vedvati: 2999998
  6. @cmp2020: 2001000
  7. @pkvlogs: 1999999
  8. @troyvandeventer: 1999999
  9. @jeffjagoe: 1999999
  10. @zorg67: 1999998
  11. @helex: 1999996
  12. @wekkel: 1994346
  13. @ozymandias: 1900001
  14. @kenny-crane: 1499998
  15. @baus85: 1221000
  16. @ibringawareness: 1099999
  17. @mrstaf: 1099998
  18. @captainobviou3: 1096898
  19. @chefcryptoshark: 1069883
  20. @bbrewer: 1049889

None of that looks bad to me, but there may be other owners who didn't transfer all of their Pocket to one account. For example, I'd encourage people to look into a family of accounts with celebrity names like @melissa-mccarthy.

So now is the time for the community to do some soul-searching, see if you think the distribution is fair enough, and then carry on.

For more information

Sort:  

Based on the information provided in this post and all my experiences with Pocket, I would say distribution was fair. By the way, what an awesome number of tokens at 1,222,001,222!

Great, I keep getting good feedback like this about the distribution. It's very encouraging to me that the community is happy with it!

And yeah, I had a feeling the final number was going to have a nice ring to it :) But... if we'd had one less claim, it would have been a palindrome: 1221001221. ;)

That would have been too perfect!

How do you plan to deal with deflation now that all the possible token have been created and (if I understood correctly) no more tokens will be generated in the future?

We'll cross that bridge when we get deflation. The losses should be pretty slow.

Deflation is no problem and should drive price of POCKET tokens up.

Awesome! Very suprised to see myself on the list considering I only made 2 claims. Now it's time to get POCKET on an exchange and www.coinmarketcap.com !

Let the scheming commence...

How about we crowd fund to get listed on a exchange such as yobit or livecoin.net

you will soon be very rich bud...hope there will be a solid product behind it and we can sell at 10USD

In my opinion, and note I am no expert at any of this, but to me it seems that everyone of us with Pocket Tokens needs to get them out on the market.

Produce a demand for them by utilizing them in contests, sales of goods/crypto and so on.

Supply and demand.

If we don't do it, then remember that those who don't have them definitely won't.

So it is in our best interest to start placing them out onto the market, get a part of what we have out there to people who have not claimed their stake and make this Meta Token worth a pretty penny to people!

Simple as that, or is it?

Correct me if I'm wrong!

I agree with you! Another thing that would help would be some tools to use the token here on Steemit such as a POCKET wallet.

I think we should just having fun sending it to each other for tips on all Steem Apps. The value will come by using it and at some point, an entrepreneurs or dev will come up with a marketplace . It remind us the early days of bitcoin. Satoshi and others where just playing and sending it to each other for fun till some one offer 10 000 bitcoin for a pizza :-) So let's have fun guys!

It all sounds good to me :)

Personally I think distribution was as fair as it could be, considering the fact that the tokens were for free and many Steemians have multi accounts. Just got to know that gentlebot and thing-2 accounts are yours. A great respect for that. Those 2 bots are the best bots on Steemit, when it comes to selfless serving.

Here is how I'm using my Pocket Tokens to begin with:

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@jackmiller/101-comment-competition-everyone-wins

101 COMMENT COMPETTITON/CONTEST

I think the distribution was fair, now we need to answer the next biggest question; what next?

What's going to happen now, what are we supposed to do with these tokens. Are these tokens just for tipping or do they have other tradable value?

I find the notion of fairness of distribution to be rather strange.

To the best of my perspective there have been no downsides in participating in this - whether one has one or more accounts to claim upon.

Indeed some soul-searching is required. It'll be interesting to see what behaviors emerge now that the pocket pool has been completed.

The genesis is historic. I am curious to see how the next chapter unfolds. :c)

I find the notion of fairness of distribution to be rather strange.

I'm curious what you mean by this.

I can see how that could be seen as ambiguous in meaning - my apologies. :c)

I mean that there was a consistent window of opportunity for those who signed up.

True, such necessitated hearing about Pocket tokens, and thus people could miss out.

True, those with more accounts could claim more times and the rules made reactive account creation pointless.

However the rollout was as consistent as could reasonably be expected - and those who claimed got precisely "what was written on the tin".

Furthermore the uncertain utility of pocket (at least to some of us) further complicates quantification - and quantification is a useful element in determining that which is fair from that which is not.

I trust that this clarifies the line in question? :c)

Yep, got it. I'm not really worried that anything I did was unfair. The question of fairness is more about how uniformly distributed the tokens are among various accounts. If someone got 100 million tokens for free, I'd view that as a problem for a token in which most people got only 1 million tokens for free.

Wow neat to make history and make the list! I purchased 100,000 for 2 SBD from @rival 's auction. Thanks for improving the platform for us all @biophil

pocketsend:100@ibringawareness, Indeed, all glory to @biophil

Successful Send of 100
Sending Account: wekkel
Receiving Account: ibringawareness
New sending account balance: 1994246
New receiving account balance: 1100098
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: c3392e107632c5379545b15e79d4c369b29a34bd
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

Successful Send of 100
Sending Account: wekkel
Receiving Account: ibringawareness
New sending account balance: 1994246
New receiving account balance: 1100098
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: c3392e107632c5379545b15e79d4c369b29a34bd
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66