You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POCKET Genesis is now complete. Total supply: 1,222,001,222 Tokens.

in #pocket7 years ago

I find the notion of fairness of distribution to be rather strange.

To the best of my perspective there have been no downsides in participating in this - whether one has one or more accounts to claim upon.

Indeed some soul-searching is required. It'll be interesting to see what behaviors emerge now that the pocket pool has been completed.

The genesis is historic. I am curious to see how the next chapter unfolds. :c)

Sort:  

I find the notion of fairness of distribution to be rather strange.

I'm curious what you mean by this.

I can see how that could be seen as ambiguous in meaning - my apologies. :c)

I mean that there was a consistent window of opportunity for those who signed up.

True, such necessitated hearing about Pocket tokens, and thus people could miss out.

True, those with more accounts could claim more times and the rules made reactive account creation pointless.

However the rollout was as consistent as could reasonably be expected - and those who claimed got precisely "what was written on the tin".

Furthermore the uncertain utility of pocket (at least to some of us) further complicates quantification - and quantification is a useful element in determining that which is fair from that which is not.

I trust that this clarifies the line in question? :c)

Yep, got it. I'm not really worried that anything I did was unfair. The question of fairness is more about how uniformly distributed the tokens are among various accounts. If someone got 100 million tokens for free, I'd view that as a problem for a token in which most people got only 1 million tokens for free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69412.19
ETH 3670.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25