You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poetry Sunday: Cigar, The Poem

in #poem6 years ago

@blockurator,

Interesting write up. I'm a vet too (and a poet) ... different army. I wonder if anyone ever likes the war they're in? The difference between the theory and the reality is always stark.

My experience (including Iraq ... a bit earlier than yours) was a bit different. Philosophically, I view war as, regrettably, inevitable. The thin veneer of civilization is just that ... "thin" ... and buried not-so-deep within human beings is a very nasty set of instincts and baser motivations. A great deal of history is simply trying to establish order from chaos. I doubt this will ever change.

Anyway, I'm glad to see you're a part of PoetsUnited. I'll check out your other stuff. Followed.

Quill

Sort:  

Thanks Quill. I agree that war is inevitable. I think it's ingrained in the human makeup. However, that's not to say that all war is right. If you wish, we can pick up that conversation on Discord. Otherwise, yes, I'm looking forward to more interactions with you. Thanks for following. I'll check out your poetry as well.

@blockurator,

Fair enough. QuillFire #7038 on Discord if you ever want to chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77