You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Better than Nothing

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

Wonderfully written poem. When I read it I think of bouts of clinical depression Ive had in the past. Where I cannot literally move or get out of bed.

It's an emptiness where you just wait for time to slip buy but not any particular reason. Just so this time will speed by and existence will soon start to dissipate.

A horrible time in my Life. I could not talk to my wife or my two dearest young daughters. Not because I did not want to but because my brain was under attack from this terrible disease. Nothing at all was wrong in my Life. No lost job, no lost love, no tragedy nothing. Just came from nowhere. Much like Cancer comes from nowhere and attacks other organs of the body.

I distinctly remember my daughter coming in my room where I lay and talking about opening her own cupcake shop when she was an adult ( she was 8). All I could think was how horrible that I would not be around to see that. I just prayed that she would leave the room and let me suffer with this emptiness..

Like I said unless you have been head to head with this dreadful disease you have NO idea how it can take the strongest human being ( believe Iam a strong motherf@cker ;) ) and happiest human being and turn their life into literally "nothingness"

Thank you again for this poem @snook

Sort:  

Thank You for sharing and yes, to all you wrote above!! but it can be beaten slowly and surely as we are living proof!

hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84