Better than Nothing

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

Better than Nothing



Anger is a thing
I wish I had right now.

Any emotion
Would be great,
to feel right now.

To feel in my soul.
To feel deep inside.

Anything would be great,
then this emptiness inside.

I'm surrounded by love,
by people that care.

Yet,
I can not see past,
the fog that is there.

The fog that goes
around and around
in my head.

Spinning

I can't take much more.
I can't.
I just can't.

How do you do it?
How do you stop it?
Where do you go from here?

You look.
You find.
You search.

It's all empty.
Into the grass.
Into the soil, it wastes away

Down to nothing
Down to the core
It's empty inside

What do you do?
How do you feel?

Just to feel
anything right now
Would be the best

It's not meant to be.
These feelings.

Where hate
Would be better
Than nothing


~Snook



YouTube Video




Written, spoken, filmed and edited by me, @snook

Music found here



Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you.

Love,

Snook



Vote for Witness Enginewitty!

Vote for Witness Steemgigs!

Vote for Witness Jackmiller!

Vote for Witness Guiltyparties!

Vote for Witness C0ff33a / Deranged!

SNOOK.gif

The STEEM Engine

Snooks Alliance Footer.gif

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

Hi snook,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank You so very much!!
I have no words right now but those....

This post is a part of me so once again.....Thank You for seeing it and recognizing that.

I had a bit of a tizzle where nothing would have been better than my angered state, funny enough. But I can feel the other way, definitely have felt it many times... nicely done (musical read :))

Thank You and yes, feel too much or too little.......but it beats feeling none.

sending you a hug, just in case this was just art another hug, and if anything i hope the healing hug gives you sumn.
lovely poetry and i loved reading it, thank you for sharing. xo

Thank You and I will take the hugs!
Thank you for stopping to read and your great comment!

@snook you are so welcome !! hugs some mo'

Tomorrow is a new and different day, emphasis on the different , go do something different, anything that can bring you some joy.

I promise it is on the TOP of the list tomorrow!!

Thank you for your kind words and stopping to read.

You are welcome, and when you do it, take the time to tell us about it in a post.

Wonderfully written poem. When I read it I think of bouts of clinical depression Ive had in the past. Where I cannot literally move or get out of bed.

It's an emptiness where you just wait for time to slip buy but not any particular reason. Just so this time will speed by and existence will soon start to dissipate.

A horrible time in my Life. I could not talk to my wife or my two dearest young daughters. Not because I did not want to but because my brain was under attack from this terrible disease. Nothing at all was wrong in my Life. No lost job, no lost love, no tragedy nothing. Just came from nowhere. Much like Cancer comes from nowhere and attacks other organs of the body.

I distinctly remember my daughter coming in my room where I lay and talking about opening her own cupcake shop when she was an adult ( she was 8). All I could think was how horrible that I would not be around to see that. I just prayed that she would leave the room and let me suffer with this emptiness..

Like I said unless you have been head to head with this dreadful disease you have NO idea how it can take the strongest human being ( believe Iam a strong motherf@cker ;) ) and happiest human being and turn their life into literally "nothingness"

Thank you again for this poem @snook

Thank You for sharing and yes, to all you wrote above!! but it can be beaten slowly and surely as we are living proof!

hugs

Depression sux :( <3

A mixture of feelings from this poem, excellently written but you can't help feel the deeper emotions it portrays within. Stay safe @snook - you know there are plenty of us not far away if you need us 🤗

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I know my Alliance family is the best!! Thank You for all you do and all the care you give!!

All are great Snook!
The poem, the film, the voice and the music filled life.
No emptiness anymore, no hate nor anger.
Nothingness is gone.

I'm alive and kicking!

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

Thank You for your wonderful happy comment!!

You're very much welcome!
What's your real name Snook?
And why your screen name is snook?
Sorry for the two questions. I usually ask those questions when I make comments on posts.

I am sorry but those 2 questions are the two I don't answer......

I AM sorry.

Oh!
No worries. I respect your privacy and secrecy.

Anyways, its my pleasure talking to you. And thank you very much for sharing your precious time replying to my comments and to others as well.
To be with people adds life and hope, much more if communication is there.

Wish you all the best!

This reminds me of the line "Yes, I'd rather hurt than feel nothing at all" by Lady Antebellum from their song "Need You Now."

You are very good to be writing, narrating and video editing at the same time. Do you usually do these all together?

Never heard of it but I live in quiet.

Thank You and yes, if a poem/song calls out to me to have a movie made to go with it I make one but not all are like that some just need to be written.

Thank you for stopping by!!

Here is the song that I was referring to. 😊

Do you have something like a criteria on when a song or poem will be better with a movie? Like, what calls for just writing and what calls for more?

sorry, no I do not...just just a feeling.....or sometimes time......but mostly a feeling. If I write a poem or story and it feels done then it's done......if not.......then I will do the voice over for it and see if I can find music........ sometimes that is all it needs to feel done.........but like this one it needed something more so went into an old game I played and shot the footage I wanted and then I just hope for the best to be honest.

sorry I can not be of more help......

You don't have to be sorry. I was just curious if there is specific determinant but if there is none then there is no harm done. I guess artists really have this instinct about their artworks. 😊

I love how you express your thoughts and emotions through poetry. Isn't it interesting how every morning you could have a different emotion and a different poem would be born out of it?

I so agree!! it's something that I never did before until Steemit so it's been fun? interesting to play around with it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22