You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth - History & Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

A wonderful piece. You say you are not an historian--but everything we do is affected by history. The rich history of this place informs these poems, but whatever we write has culture in it--culture is accumulated history.
I got my undergraduate degree in history, so I really appreciate the journey you take us through. History connects us all--as I read I remembered that some of my ancestors left England in the 1600s because they were dissenters. Their history became, in a way, a part of this piece.
Good going @raj808

Sort:  

but everything we do is affected by history. The rich history of this place informs these poems, but whatever we write has culture in it--culture is accumulated history.

Very true @agmoore... if I'm honest about it, what I should have said is that I don't usually enjoy writing history posts like this but I did enjoy this one. Maybe my tastes are developing to enjoy the research side of things a little more :-)

I'm glad you enjoyed this and it is gratifying that a History graduate liked it, as it convinces me that I didn't gloss over things too much ;-) I was convinced at one point that I hadn't gone into enough detail but then I thought, local history is quite niche so I'll keep it a little more general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86