You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kuh-thers /'kʌð·ərz/ (for kim)

in #poetry6 years ago

I'll never forget a toddler I knew who loved especially the "shoe" in a loaf of bread. Nobody ever challenged him, and we felt the loss the first time he asked for the "heel". You captured sweet innocence in this poem.

The picture expresses the emotion perfectly.

Sort:  

Actually, this poem is about my partner Kim. Though, you are not the first to be reminded of a toddler by this piece. For most of her life she has struggled to say the word without more of a T-H sound, especially when speaking quickly and she kind of embraced it to some degree. It was more prominent when we first got together over twelve years ago, but it still slips through every now and then. I have a similar issue when I try to say 'polish sausage.' It just comes out 'polishaushage.'

I think your fondness comes through and that's what brought a toddler to mind. I guess we all bring our experience to everything--mine was recalling a toddler asking for the "shoe" and thinking he had made a sophisticated statement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87