Sort:  

@blockurator,

"Hope Ye of Nations" was all chuckles to write. We need to inject poetry with a bit of humor from time to time. The world of poetry has become pretty bleak for the most part ... poets, seemingly, have lost their ability to see anything good in the world.

What I didn't count on was that his Mom would read it ... and there was a salty line in the poem. She let me off the hook. There's lots of nice folks on Steemit.

Quill

Yes, agreed. Poets can often take themselves too seriously. And everyone wants to fight the establishment with lines of verse (I must admit, I've done my fair share). While Shelley made a good point when stating that poets were the undeclared legislators of the world, and Edward Bulwer-Lytton quite insightful in quipping "The pen is mightier than the sword," it is unfortunate that both swords and pens grow duller with more use. And, as it turns out, poets aren't any better at legislating than lawyers, which is all the more good that we should remain undeclared.

Laughter is indeed good medicine. I'm glad your friend's Mom let you off the hook. Mom's can be vicious.

@blockurator,

You are an excellent writer. I'm glad to have met you. Let's make a deal right now: So long as it is well articulated, we may both make any argument in each other's posts without sanction. The best of my mind and the best of yours. Steel sharpens steel.

Quill

Absolutely!

I'm all for well-articulated arguments. If it's well stated and backed up with a fair degree of logic, and facts, I can't blame someone for disagreeing with me. I love the back and forth. More back than forth, of course. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84