SOMETHING TRUE - A Rhyming Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


                                                                    
One day a little man decided to say something true.
The world was screwed right up, he didn't know what else to do,
So he bade his friends and family well and left out of the blue;
He knew there was no turning back from saying something true.

He took it to the paper, but they told him he was wrong.
He knew he should have played guitar and sang it in a song,
but they laughed him out the office, and said "Boy you got no clue!"
"We can't agree here, you and me, 'cause we decide what's true."

He wandered to the AM station miles down the way, and said
I wanna tell what's true and if I have to I can pay.
"We don't want your money, son, now if you'll please excuse
my colleagues and myself right now, we must report the news."

From town to town, he never found an outlet for his truth,
Until the words were just as lost and faded as his youth.
He settled down on solid ground and started life anew,
Losing sight of all that's right, and most of what is true.

***Thank you all for being here, and for allowing Steemit to be an outlet for truth :) 

Image Source: www.geocaching.com/geocache/GC4H2FF_down-the-road

Sort:  

This is not my image. I was unable to find an original artist. I just thought it went well with my words, I hope you understand :)

It is a great image ..fine to use just put where you got it! ie...image credit: Cheers...
Hope all of your days are magical!
Melissa

Welcome fellow homesteader! Love the donuts and your beautiful poem! You really really remind me of my son...trying to get him onto this wonderful platform...He would have so many contemporaries here...the apple does not fall far from the tree.
SO much love wished to you and your pretty wife,
Blessings,
Melissa
Oh wanted to invite you to the homesteading on steemit sit on facebook ..gives a little more exposure...super great steemers there. :) I am only writing one month myself ..check me out!
I read your poem yet again...it really made me smile!

Thanks! I'll check out the homesteading group. There's gotta be something useful still to do on Facebook, eh? ;)

Indeed! Have a great day!
Melissa

Great poem. Makes me think that I definitely don't want to grow old and lose sight of what is true.

Thanks! See that you don't ;)

Really great poem. I enjoyed that, thank you. Hope you write more

Thanks a lot! Don't worry... Plenty more where that came from ;)

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56