Cloud-outtakes

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Cloud-outtakes

.
Follow-up to
Sky-sculptor's show

original poetry
by @d-pend
.
featuring
photography
    by BrightStar2


cloud_atlas_by_brightstar2-d9fp0v0.jpg


Introduction

This poem was dictated at the same time as "Sky-sculptor's show" and transcribed. I called it outtakes because gazing at clouds near sunset provides basically limitless fodder for the imagination—though there is a sort of sinking feeling when one tries to verbalize these uncapturable majesties. When I felt the main poem was complete I continued to jot down (orally) these impressions to pay homage to the glory of the sky and it became something of its own piece. Let me know your impressions in a comment and thanks for reading my work!

to_be_somebody_by_brightstar2-d9nocuj.jpg


Cloud-outtakes

Feathered cirrus
arrows of retribution.

The mixture of an ant,
a canine, and a snail.

Living,
a perfect circle
with angel wings.

Protuberous fungi
growing above trees.

A vast coiled aqueduct
topped with a cloud luminary.

Unspeakable monuments and clefts.

Vast profanities obstructing the daytime.

Time recycled in a bin of wisps.

Curtained threats of storm or dreariness,
passive-aggressive with the muted expanse
of hour-after-hour.

Tremulous vectors of discomfiting reflections
behind wheels to steal metal barges.
Brain-factories of pink anxiety.

Escher is born to my upper left;
behind me Dalí plants a cauliflower palace.

To my right, an unnamed bodhisattva
roars with unrequited haiku.

In front of me, inexplicable Octavio
boards a ship of shadow
and wags a gnarled finger at me
while his furrowed brow jubilates.

Ribbed conches of opaque glass,
soft eels blinding in their evanescence.

All the appendages of a shark with no body,
still loyal to their imagined master.

The sea-foam from a dolphin's dive,
yearning for the moment to be resuscitated.


let the sky fall.jpg


Original Poetry
by @d-pend
.
Oct. 13, 2018
.
Photography
   by BrightStar2

.
    I. — "Cloud Atlas"
    II. — "To Be Somebody"
    III. — "Let The Sky Fall"
    IV. — "Time"


time_by_brightstar2-d9jxe50.jpg


Sort:  
Loading...

The variety of sensations gives the reader a memory like a movie for example, the verse:

The mixture of an ant,
a canine, and a snail.

I imagine driving home anxious to get there fast and the time clock that does not want to move.

In front of me, inexplicable Octavio
boards a ship of shadow
and wags a gnarled finger at me
while his furrowed brow jubilates.

An abstract thought moves old emotions that try to navigate in calm waters. But as it says in a previous verse storm clouds or sadness are formed.

I hope the sun comes out on the blue horizon with the light of the new dawn for a teacher we all miss. Greetings @d-pend

In front of me, inexplicable Octavio
boards a ship of shadow
and wags a gnarled finger at me
while his furrowed brow jubilates.

I seem to have been following gracefully on the aesthetics of the firmament from your verses meanwhile which took a different verse pattern, until I stumbled upon the verse above, it seems to be bit ambiguous and I easy lost in it's meaning really, it's totally awesome, care to elaborate the verse?

I thought of a few artists emerging from "the four directions:" M.C. Escher to the left, Salvador Dalí behind me. Some nameless bodhisattva from the forest on my right, and "inexplicable" Octavio Paz directly in front.

It's the sort of absurd idea that I'm not sure even fits in this poem, and I think was somewhat poorly executed. In fact, this poem is more a random collection of sense impressions and brainstorming than a finished piece. That's why I didn't include it in the I.I. series proper or into "Sky-sculptor's show." Though, some of these images could probably be used in that piece to good effect.

The potential manifestations, as always, are endless! Thanks for the comment @josediccus :-)

Oh, my God! So much beauty together must be sin. A wonderful magazine to the majesty of Mother Nature's work, captured in a sunset that reveals ancestral secrets. Mirrors of the sky were captured in the images.
Splendid work, @d-pend. A gem of your treasure. Thank you for the delight.

Hey, I would like to hear your opinion on this: https://steemit.com/busy/@littleboy/steem-clone-weku-looks-a-little-shady

Alright. Heading to bed, I'll stop by tomorrow with my thoughts.

You can see more in those clouds than the average eye. Thanks again for sharing this candy in the sky or sea?

Dear @d-pend sir!
A masterpiece and poet are the ones who find the subject matter for every imaginative brain in every object of nature.
You are also one of the best contemporary poets who created Cloud-Outtakes Poem after watching the clouds during sunset.Poems are the expression of the imaginary mind, which automatically erupts.
Regards sir..

Ahhh...

Painting the face of the sky,
with your mind's eye.

It's good to see your work again. I've been away for the past two months with school. The pictures are just beautiful, literally and figuratively.

I'll have to stop in more as I have time, to this bountiful Bodega on Steemit Street.

Great poem and pictures to match. Since our skies are devoid of clouds most of the summer in my part of California, I love this time of year when the clouds come back.

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98