You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: " Night, Ma' "(Whaleshares Poetry Challenge #11)

in #poetry5 years ago

This hits home with me. My father was an alcoholic during the earliest years of my life, but he stopped cold turkey when I was around 10. It was miraculous! Then, unfortunately, I went through a marriage with a woman that turned alcoholic. Not a good place to be in any case.

Sort:  

Yes, I have several stories. One of the biggest was when my mother overdosed while I had my friend spending the night. I woke up to the flashes of an ambulance and my older brother (who lived with my father, my parents were separated). He said she tried to kill herself and he took my friend and I to my father's. I stayed up all night not even knowing if my mom was alive. One of the most gut wrenching days/nights/weekends of my life. Worst part was no one talked about it on either side of my family (parents were divorced) so it was something I had to really comprehend and deal with on my own. I've several stories, but yeah that one really sticks out relative to my poem.

I'm so sorry you had to endure alcoholism as well. It sounds like if anyone could relate, it is you. I guess if there's any resolve for the moment it's that I'm glad my post resonated with you.

P.s. if I don't respond to stuff or am just generally less active on steemit it's because my RC is so low

Np. I know how that goes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90