You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cross the winds

in #poetry6 years ago

This is pretty good. Did you lose someone? Seems a strong focus on finality. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. Can I ask what this says about your belief, or lack of belief, in an afterlife? Seems founded on a secural worldview, "we get what we get, it will include beauty, but one day it ends, and this is life"?

Thanks for sharing. It really is very strong.

Sort:  

In my view, it doesn't matter what comes after as it doesn't change present action at all.

That seems to me to be a healthy attitude. I do believe in an afterlife, but one thing I think is dangerous is fixating on the afterlife, like "cant wait to get there", which some who believe do. On one level that makes sense because if you believe in heaven then of course you would be excited to get there, it is supposed to be perfection, pure joy and fulfillment. Why wouldn't you want to get there (if it exists)? But at the same time, if you believe in heaven, or not, you have today, may as well use it to make this place a little better, brighter and fuller, for you and those near you.

Fixating on the future, or the past, is never a healthy perspective, as one of my favourite poets says "I think I am ready to be here, now."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87