Forbidden Knowledge

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

pic
Image source

Hey Steem people. Some more dark writings, i love Steem so much, never knew so many would appreciate a little twisted darkness, i didn't know what to expect when i first start posting here, but the feedback i have gotten really means a lot to me. I never thought my writing would be appreciated be other people! This has been a dream come true! Thank you so much and i hope you enjoy. Give me the feedback!!!

Forbidden Knowledge

Old moldy tomes,
Wet smells of old,
Dark endless labyrinth,
Of secrets i'm told.

Hidden in memoirs,
Of those before us,
Must find the ledger,
For days i have fussed.

Or maybe for weeks
I cannot remember
More time is needed
November, December

A thousand old books
I must have revived
From dusty old shelves
In my mind now alive

Written in language
Lost long ago
Filled with the knowledge
No man should know

I'm no longer reading
Its voices i hear
When i turn the pages
They're ever more near

I must wake them up
From centuries slumber
With this one last book
Through each passage i blunder

I clear out the room
Light all the candles
With a dark mass of flesh
I carefully handle

Over my body
I pull the skin tight
Drink of the blood
And scream into the night

Sound after sound
So many syllables
I can feel a changing
In a moment so pivotal

Leaving myself,
Something else coming in
Loving me for
My original sin

In my last moment
A flash of great fear
For what i have done
Oblivion's here

Sort:  

Excellent -- the effect of Lovecraft is so strong in this one, with forbidden tomes of ancient lore that man was not meant to know and the punishment for reading it. Somehow, the short verses also bring to my mind, Metallica's The Thing That Should Not Be and I can't help but imagine a similar soundtrack to your poem!

Thanks for the awesome feedback. Lovecraft is my source of inspiration when i write poems for my steem. I have always wanted to create something that is close to the imaginings that have kept me entertained for years haha. I truly appreciate the compliment and i love the fractals you made, incredible work for sure.

Awesome as always

Great poem.

Come back to steemit, @lemongrab! ☺

Congratulations @lemongrab! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67