You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CALL ME DADA: A POEM

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Can't resist commenting on the piece, for I'm a mother and I'm impressed, Oskilo, because (I was spying on you and I know that you're not yet a parent) you wrote it as if you were a father, you managed to inhabit what you've never experienced.

These little details

The journey of your eyeballs
Beneath your eyelids
When you sleep and dream,
can be spotted just by a parent. And these ones
Will you giggle and drool
On my neck, will you burp
And puke on my shirt one day,
can be cherished just by a parent, - that's what I used to think, but after reading your piece, I'm not sure anymore)

I love the structure: every stanza is self-contained and complete, the repetitions of the beginnings and the ends are charming. From stanza to stanza we travel in time from not so distant future to a more distant one, I've experienced multiple changes of mood while reading, a coctail of emotions ))

The second stanza is filled with almost maternal tenderness, that's amazing! Haha, you know what, I've noticed that you're talking about little girl thanks to the "tiny shoe with a pink bow" detail, although most men are dreaming about having a son, whom they could share their wisdom with, a girl is much more of a hassle, she'll always be your little girl, who needs your protection, therefore a girl is much more of a commitment)

I've noticed also how interestingly you use "my seed" in stanzas that talk about deeper things, than just having a child, - about life overcoming death by continuing in the hearts of children.

Sort:  

This is quite beautiful. I am truly not a father but I have been around children a lot and I tend to be observant, to a fault I think. For I sometimes notice things that not there.

Yeah I would definitely love a girl child. Just want a girl that I can spoil and teach to be self independent and prepared for all the wolves in sheep's clothing. 😂

I hope I make a great father some day. I hope I have the opportunity to be a hero in a little girl's eyes. Even if it is only for a while.

Thank you for your lovely comment once again. I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87