Daniel Boone Ordinary Man

in #poetry6 years ago


Nineteenth Century Captain America
Made a legend without being asked
Carried a knife and tomahawk axe

Colonel Daniel opened Appellations
To a land called Kentucky
No it wasn’t Davy Crockett

Swinging on vines
Fighting a bear hand and paw
Bigger than life

Han Solo
Buck Rodgers
How about Don Juan?

Boone spoke few words
Yet so many write of Boone
Byron to my surprise:

Of the great names which in our faces stare,
The General Boon, back-woodsman of Kentucky,
Was happiest amongst mortals any where;
For killing nothing but a bear or buck, he
Enjoyed the lonely vigorous, harmless days
Of his old age in wilds of deepest maze

Byron’s words are closest to being right
The image they molded of savage killer
Make Daniel weep

He was a simple man
With deep respect for life
Not a Hollywood actor

Nothing like the stories circulated
Just a man living in the wild
Like others before him

He wore no coonskin cap


Daniel 2.jpg

“Many heroic actions and chivalrous adventures are related of me which exist only in the regions of fancy. With me the world has taken great liberties, and yet I have been but a common man.”

Daniel Boone

You will always be remembered in Boone as an ordinary man with an extraordinary heart, not as any fantasy picture Hollywood drew in facade.


The real portrait of Daniel Boone.
;-)

Daniel Boone Half Dollar
Daniel Boone Hollywood pic
Daniel Boone Ordinary Portrait

Enjoy your simple life and don't let anyone make something more out of it than it already ease.

@mineopoly

Sort:  

@mineopoly you just brought back a little bit of my childhood! My brother and I this watched that show. Haha, I loved that theme song! Very interesting that the real Daniel Boone didn't wear a coonskin cap!

I was surprised to read about that too. Yet I'm happy Boone was not the man that Hollywood made him out to be. Although he was a Colonel who fought in a war it wasn't as simple as our kids games of cowboys and Indians went. I think it was a lot of cold war influence in the media.

I'm thinking about writing another article called "The supportive Stooge."

Larry.gif

What do you think?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

hahaha! oh man sir mineopoly, what a marvelous post about the real Daniel Boone. I know nothing about him. I wonder how much information we really have on him? I might have to do a series on the real Daniel Boone!
It sounds like his character and life was totally made up.
Is that your coin?

The coin is from wikipedia. That would make a beautiful piece to any one's collection.

So many wrote stuff about Daniel Boone but most of it contradicts the character portrayed in his earliest biography and his own words. Byron wrote about Daniel Boon in Don Juan and has a more accurate perspective than anything else I read. The TV show in the sixties was just trying to make another Davy Crockett. Even the coin is a little messed up putting a coonskin cap on him. I do like the friendship portrayed on the coin between Daniel and the native American Indian.

howdy again sir mineopoly! wow well, it sounds like his real life story is boring but it couldn't have been that boring could it? I guess I would have to read his autobiography and see if it would be exciting or interesting enough to do a post on.

thank you for all the information, are you working today? or are you off work already?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62