You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peonies

in #poetry6 years ago

Wow, this really hits home in more ways than one. When we bought this place, our friend who we got it from asked to come and dig up her great-aunt's peonies in case the chickens got at them. Finally last fall I dug them up, along with the columbine, divided the crowns, and transplanted them into pots. They sat out all winter.

This spring I gave her and another lady the pots of crowns and I kept three for us. Only one survived; I'm assuming because of the bitter cold and no insulation. It produced a single, pink flower that this morning was all over the ground from the heavy rain in the night.

I think I will bury it in mulch this winter and give it a chance to repopulate. Maybe next year we will have two beautiful peony flowers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85