Elemental

in #poetry5 years ago


Image Source

elemental

then the silence rose like a wave
and crashed over me
dragging me down to drown
in my epiphany
that perhaps i was the cause
of it all
but the heat
it grows inside of me
and i need
to plead
my case
too long
you’ve acted
as jury and judge
when executioner is your name
this fire spreading in my bones
i’ll take it to the grave
and burn it all down
i’ll wash it with my flames
cleanse this world
of all its shame
then freeze in place
the moment
when it’s born anew
lock it away
and shatter the key
let the debris be carried off
along with the breeze

Sumayyah Talibah © 09 November 2018

Recent Posts

Sort:  

I need
to plead
My case
too long...

The cadence through the beginning is fun and active.

I like the rhyming throughout really.

One part threw me. Fire spreading through your bones. I thought for sure you'd say veins.

Always keep them guessing ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

this fire spreading in my bones
i’ll take it to the grave

These lines reminded me of how much wisdom lies silently in the graves... untapped :(

Indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86