Warrior Path

in #poetry6 years ago


Photo Source

warrior path

on my knees
with sealed lips
head bowed
hands behind my back
neck bound for the blade
as punishment
for speaking out
forgetting my place
channeling the power
of ancestral pain
it’s in my skin
in my blood
hardwired into my DNA
and i won’t cry
or beg to be saved
from this fate
i won’t cry
there’s fire in my eyes

underneath the sun
evil crawls upon the ground
yet us warriors are always
the ones who get stuck down
where’s the justice we were
promised at the start?
where’s the golden reward
given to those with heart?
do not mourn my memory
once i’m good and gone
take my flag and cross and
carry my work on
and i won’t cry
there’s fire in my eyes

23 February 2018

Recent Posts

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Visit me on

Sort:  

You got a 50.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @skycae! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

really love all the poetry you do @sumayyahsaidso, you express so much passion, thank you of sharing your words with us x

Thank you so much for the kind words and for reading.

@summayyahsaido, yet again you made me drew image in my head. I wish if I could have read it on.

I imagine a girl with determination in her eyes and about the unleash her fury. Even in surrender there exists a Phoenix waiting to be reborn.

Quite an intense read, thanks for writing and bringing the escape :)

Thank you so much for reading. I'm glad my words evoked such a strong response.

Well, @sumayyahsaidso It's simply your words that paint a picture so strong that in no time one simply flows inside it. Would surely be waiting to hear more from you.

this is pretty damn lovely, relatable and heart wrenching, joyfull all at the same time.

Thank you for joining me on this experience.

You are so powerful with your words. One day I hope to be able to express my own feelings and thoughts as you do.

Thank you. Music helps me, but mostly just..writing. I once answered the question "why do you write?" with "to get the noise out of my head". So, @bethsjourney - just write.

There are times when I feel my tears amplify the fire in my eyes.

Yes. Tears of anger and frustration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88