Sort:  

Thank you @wandrnrose7

Not great health-wise.... but what's changed there eh? 😆 If ya didn't laugh, you'd cry. I know you know hun. I read your recent post about your migraines. I'm still in the position where food makes me sick and tired instead of nourished and energized.

Thanks for checking out my poem :-)

@raj808,

I missed this post by a day so I'll hit a comment instead.

Pretty good for a 5 minute freewrite, mate. Well done.

I've been toying with writing a book as well, including Fantasy (my daughter and all her friends devour the genre). The trick with all fiction is "plausibility" ... fiction DOES NOT grant an author license to write baloney, a fact I find many writers do not comprehend. And given the nature of Fantasy, it is especially prone to plotline abuse.

Keep it Real ... even when it's not.

Quill

Ha ha, I always keep it real... especially when keeping it unreal ;-)

fiction does not grant an author license to write baloney, a fact I find many writers do not comprehend.

Yeah, I get what you're saying. I think it is highly subjective with fantasy in regards to things like magic systems, religions and monsters etc. Tbh, if you're not a fan of balony, I'm not sure why you'd read fantasy. By the genres very nature it isn't meant to be realistic, but having said that, the rules of writing still apply. For example, with fantasy, part of the skill and craft is building believable unreality. This is achieved by making sure there is some type of internal logic, and system, behind the fantastic elements (e.g. magic). Also, building a rich world (sub-creation) before starting to write the novel. I have over 40000 words of sub-creation already written, including maps, political make up, history, legends, religions, magic system and unique races that live in the world I've created.

On top of that any decent fantasy novel also has to have the core elements right just like any other novel. Plot, theme, structure, pace, strong believable characters (and interactions between characters), hooks between chapters, drama, twists and turns to keep the reader interested.

given the nature of Fantasy, it is especially prone to plotline abuse.

I do agree that fantasy is prone to lazy writing and I've read some novels that I thought were truly awful in the fantasy genre. The type of novels that make you scratch your head as to how they got published, as you give up a quarter of the way through because it's just that hard to read. It kind of encourages me even more to write a unique take on fantasy, and pay homage to my first love in genre fiction.

Cheers for checking out the poem Quill :)

I'm sorry to hear about your health struggles and certainly empathize. I am praying for healing for you. Go gently on yourself, my friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84