You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NL River Bluff: thoughts on my line? 5 Steem bounty

in #poker6 years ago (edited)

Hmmm interesting play. I didn't feel the table like you, but if you ask me the moves are a bit strange. Personally I would have probably flop-folded. I don't like middle pairs, especially not below 8.

The turn brings a K, which we don't have + flush is far away. Based on your previous call, I get why you might call the turn, but it starts to get really expensive. Unless you have a special feeling about the table now, it doesn't seem like a moment to make a call. Either a fold or a raise would be my move.

River unfortunately doesn't bring us anything. What made you confident enough to make the 1800 bet? What was the first second response from the middle age white guy?

Sort:  

So given how deep we are generally like playing multi hands, which is why I continued prweflop with A5s.

We have just a tiny amount EV on the flop, but position and a bunch of chips.

The turn is not an ideal card for us. It may be conceivable that we have KK but I would think villain would expects us to raise with that.

So I basically made a decision on the turn to just bluff and represent a set. Basically representing 22, 55, or 88 and some tiny amounts of KK.

I also felt from his bet sizing that he thought he was ahead but given how he bet I was putting him on JJ, QQ, AA, KK.

And I basically was thinking that he ought to be able to fold, but wasn't good enough.

The point is in these spots one cannot only always have the goods, we also have to put in a few of bluffs. So I simply decided to use this opportunity to bluff to balance my range.

I cannot call with A5 and always fold unless I have a flush, trips or 2p. If I play this way, prweflop does not work and I won't get paid with my sets.

But overall I was not sure of this was a decent play and made sense

Cool to read how your thought process works! Makes sense and indeed, we can't always have the goods only :-)

I used to play poker quite often, but nowadays I rarely do. Still think it is an awesome game!

Same for me, used to make some money with that before crypto started doing that for me and before the general online level seriously raised :-)

I put him on AA, QQ, KK JJ and thought he would be able to fold all but the KK obviously.

What about 22 or 88? Or do you think he would have played those very differently?

Yes he was the pre flop 3 bettor, I think he calls with that range exclusively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72