Another Week

in #poker7 years ago

Record keeping has never been my strong suit. I stopped using the app about a week ago. Instead I'm going to be much more casual about recording my results, and this blog will reflect that.

This week didn't get off to much of a start, but the second half went well.

cards-2439149_640.jpg

Here's a wrap up of the week since my last post:

Between Sunday and Monday, I lost something like $400. Not sure how much I lost on either day, but I do know I lost both days.

Tuesday night, I played a smallish tournament for $170. I ended up taking 3rd place for $900.

A few moments I remember...

  • I started the tournament by running KK into a set of 7s, for about 80% of my stack. It took a while to recover from that.
  • I shoved AQo from the small blind after a late position raise, and the big blind woke up with AA. I ran good and made a Q high straight.
  • I was the short stack 3 handed with ATo, and the chip leader raised from the button. I put my stack in expecting a call from his entire range... J7o got there, and my dreams of glory were cut short.

Since I was down about $80 at cash games before the tournament, that put me up $650 for the day.

Wednesday, I played a bit of cash. I was up a few hundred at one point, but I frittered away my chips for a while and ended up down about $75.

Thursday and Friday, I was able to put together respectable winning sessions at 3/5. On Thursday, I made close to $600, and last night (Friday) I won exactly $1,000.

In the week since my last blog, I made $1,775.

Sort:  

Awesome. What site are you playing on?

Playing live.

How large of a sample size are you aiming for? As far as I understand it, you can' derive much meaningful info from a sample of less than 10k hands (not sure exactly how to translate that to tournament play, but presumably a few hundred of them at least).

Any smaller than that, and as I understand, the best you can do is analyze hands on a micro level, looking for clear mistakes that you could avoid in the future.

Then again I've never played poker at the stakes you are playing at... so please school me if I'm wrong!

Not really trying to put together a sample. I'm not tracking my play beyond measuring my winnings. :)

Congratulations @pokering! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @pokering, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1129 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $592.82. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99