2 Sit N Go's on America's Card Room

in #poker6 years ago

Last night I finally got back into the game of online poker. I deposited $50 into my account on America's Card Room and registered for 2 different Sit N Go's: $3.30 and $5.50. I figured I would play whichever one started first.

As luck would have it, they started within seconds of each other not giving me time to un-register from either. Multi-tabling it is then...

Because of this, my hand history is all messed up in my head and could be from either game.

Both tables were the longer format 10-minute levels and I started with 1,500 in chips on each.

After working my way up to around 1,700, I called a normal early position raise with J/9o. I figured this would be a good bluff catcher or A/X cracker. Flop was 8/10/X rainbow. Not bad. Early position bets a normal amount and I raise. He insta-calls. Interesting, but I usually put this type of reaction into either Rage or Range. Rage because they can't believe I raised them, or Range because they are still good. The turn is a beautiful 7 which completes my straight. He checks and I bet 60% of the pot. He instantly goes all-in. Easy call. He shows 7/10 for an awful early position raise and a turned 2-pair. I'm up to 3,200 and he's out.

The other table didn't got as well. I pretty much stayed around 1,500 for most of the game. I finally got down to around 1,000 and shoved with A/J when the blinds were 100/200. I was called by A/Q (of course). Luckily I spiked a Jack and doubled up. A few hands later I shoved with A/Q and the same guy called with A/K (of course). I again spiked a Queen and took him out completely (I'm sure he HATES me!).

Late in the game I find myself with J/J in middle position. I raise and get 2 callers, one instant. The instant caller rings my Spidey Sense and I assume he's going to shove on any non-scary flops. The flop is Queen high and sure enough, he shoves. I call and he shows 10/10. I get a nice addition to my pile of chips and get down to 3 players with around 5,000.

On both tables I manage to survive to play head's-up. This is nice as I had a lot going against me. On one table I make a straight, the board pairs, we both go all-in and my straight loses to a full-house. Ugh. Ah well!

On the remaining table, I'm not doing as well when I get to heads-up, probably 4,000 chips vs 11,000. I play my best, but I run K/K into Q/9 and he somehow hits his gut-shot straight and I'm out. Ah well!

After not playing at all for several months and non online for longer, I feel like I did really well! I had to rely on luck a little more than I like, but overall I'm still happy with my play.

Key things to my success: Patience! Waiting for the right hand at the right time. With the longer structure, there is plenty of time to play. I think when I was heads-up on both tables we were at 100/200/25 so there was still a TON of time left in the game and we really should have had more players left.

Sort:  

I used to play husng-mostly hypers- on carbon poker. However, I didn't really have time anymore with 3 kids to play so withdrew the money to bitcoin. It became about $1k, built a small portfolio of $750 in jan. Over the years I probably wasted too much time trying to build a poker bankroll instead of just building something through a side hustle and then playing for actual money instead of micro stakes.

I guess if there were DM's on steem you could message me if you had questions about heads up..

The funniest thing from my poker was that I got a western union from some random person from, Lake Titicaca from lock poker which folded soon after my withdrawal. (Beavis and Butthead-I come from lake titicaca and I need tp for my bunghole)

P.S. The real key is to not play spin and gos..

Head's up is one of those things that we all probably need more experience in. It's hard to get though as I'm not even sure you can plan heads-up as a choice anymore? For sure it's a mixed bag in tournaments and especially 1-table tournaments like this.

What were you referring to as a Spin and Go? Sit and Go?

Nice Beavis and Butthead reference!

I did some spins mostly just heads up sng because spins were too tilting.

It was more a time thing, easier to stop when kid starts crying..

But bankroll management is the #1 thing in poker to master.. how to take shots but not straight gamble.(unless you like losing )

The worst thing about acr was not seeing river cards on showdown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64