You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: They banned burqa in Denmark and I'm in a moral dilemma

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

.... and I feel I’m the one being a d*ck for once.

Only once?- you lucky bastard!
😂😂

Without social/religious expectations of an insular community, how many women would choose to wear the burqa?

Not many, I would poisit - for purely practical, and comfort reasons.

I am obviously talking about the dignity and free aspect of the burqa ban, not anything to do with open anti-Muslim

I understand what you are saying, but the burqa represents so much more than an item of clothing, - so much so that to not see the subject in a wider perspective, is not really discussing the issue (ban or not).

The expression of the religion through the wearing of the burqa, does show a patriarchal system, which means it also makes it political.
Politics and religion within the Islamic faith are intertwined.

Western cultures pretty much separate religion and politics as 'a package', so the ban isn't the just the burqa - it's symbolic of the western fight against Islam as a doctrine usurping the western systems.
It's symbolic of the western fight against real oppressive patriarchy.

Fundamentally, my principles are one of freedom, and anyone be totally free to wear what they want.
But these are from 'normal times'.

Apologies for straying into areas you didn't want to include, but I feel its impossible not to if you are trying to build a full picture...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70