Portrait Drawing with Steps

in #portrait6 years ago (edited)


1.jpg


divider.png


Hello everyone! I'm back and it's been a while since I made an artwork with a pencil. It seems like I have forgotten a bit how to draw a portrait hahaha. So, here I am, starting again.

Materials

  • Mechanical Pencil
  • Eraser
  • 8B graphite pencil
  • Brush
  • Sharpener
  • Cutter

  • I just used the cutter to sharpen my 8B, since using a sharpener would just waste it.

    2.jpg


    divider.png

    3.png

    I always start drawing one eye when I draw a portrait of anyone. I start off with a clean outline of the eye itself and just make my way into shading it darker with an 8B graphite pencil.

    4.png

    Same goes with the other eye, I just repeat my steps.. Outline - shade lighter parts - shade darker parts - erase for highlights or add highlights. Honestly, I find it a bit hard to shade using an 8B pencil, since you need to shade lightly.

    5.png

    So, what do I hate the most? No, just kidding. I just do not like drawing the hair, I find it hard to shade it especially when the hair of your model is messy. Blending it with a brush is kinda suggested too.

    6.png

    To add the highlights of the hair, I erased some parts of the hair and began to add and blend lighter to darker shades.

    7.png

    I got to admit, I didn't.. or should I say, I wasn't able to copy how and what my model looks like.. I just made everything quick.

    8.png

    I really have to practice with the shading. My hand gets a bit tired with this, switching to light and dark multiple times.

    9.png

    There it goes, I just tried to add a little more details with the mechanical pencil.

    10.png

    And last but not the least, I used the brush to blend all the hard strokes, so .. it would look a bit lighter and not mess up (too much) my drawing.

    divider.png

    23585373_1635872943136644_218453463_o.jpg


    That's all for this artwork, I did not explain how I drew this in detail, but I hope that you guys appreciate my efforts and see the process just by the photos. Thank you!

    steemit.jpg

    Sort:  

    I'm sure the effort will not betray the results, you figure a detailed artist with your texture. Many extraordinary things that you pour in the image. Your imagination is very classy! Please visit my article and please give your best advice on my simple work. Because of my fellow art lovers, I really appreciate your criticism for the reputation of my work. I am sure you can give suggestions that can build great masterpieces in the field of art. I will Reestem and vote your article. Thanks a lot of good friends @jeseemei

    https://steemit.com/art/@geonusantara/art-back-to-sow-love-together-full-move

    I viewed your work, and honestly, it's a great art! Keep it up :D

    Nice drawing! upvoted and followed :) Maybe you'd like to participate in an art contest with a cash prize. Would love if you joined!
    https://steemit.com/art/@leminhead/christmas-drawing-contest

    I'd love to! But I am not sure about it yet, I'm still busy with my school works.. My schedule's kinda messy.

    No worries. I'll be doing more art contests so if you cant make this one there will be plenty more. Would love to see an entry from you soon! :) Take care!

    Oh god, I love Cole Sprouse, i recognized him the first second I saw the draw. Very good portrait !

    Oh wow, I didn't think that anyone would actually recognize him. He looks a bit weird in this drawing.. But then, thank you!

    It’s actually very good, maybe the cheeks are a little bigger than his, but it just make him looks younger

    Ang galing, talented. :)

    Thank you po :)

    Nice artist work.

    Thank you so much!

    A very good tutorial, step by step... You have great talent ! by the way, I just drop a post on a tutorial on "portraiting". Hope you'll find the time to give me your opinion on it... see you !

    I'll try to look at it soon. Thank you for viewing my post :)

    Wow!!i drew too. Can you upvote my art too!

    You are a promising artist. Followed you! :)

    Thank you! I followed you back :)

    Hello @jeseemei

    I love your art.

    it is beautiful.

    cheers

    @dante31

    Hi, thank you for appreciating my work :)

    Congratulations @jeseemei, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3177 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3651.04. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

    If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64449.70
    ETH 3164.37
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.87