Sort:  

Yes, they're interesting and in some way incredible people. In a post last year, I wrote this about a sadhu that I met ....

One evening in the town of Rishikesh, just outside my guesthouse, I met a sadhu who spoke English. As we chatted, I shared some of my Old Monk rum with him, and offered to buy him breakfast the next morning. He slept in his blanket on the sidewalk outside the guesthouse (his choice), and the next morning, we met up and went to an open-air shop for breakfast.

He declined my offer to buy him food, and told me that all he needed to start his day was a nice hot cup of chai, before he got on the train to his next destination (the holy town of Pushkar). When I offered to give him a bit of cash for train fare, he again declined, saying that sadhus were generally allowed to ride the trains for free, and therefore he had no need of my money.

I never saw him again. However, as he travelled round northern India with his small bagful of possessions, he would occassionaly phone me, just to say “Hello,” and maybe to tell me where he was living at the time. I would invite him to drop in at my home, so that I could treat him to another cup of chai or maybe even a full breakfast. I would have loved to meet up with him, but unfortunately, we never did. He remains one of the finest people I met during my 4-year stay in the country.

Link to that post. ... https://steemit.com/photography/@majes.tytyty/the-colorful-people-of-india-individuals-images-and-reality

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87