Indian “Sadhu” Holy Man Shines a Light (Battery-Powered) … Haridwar, India – Portrait Photography

in #portraitphotography6 years ago (edited)

This Indian “sadhu” (holy man or ascetic) was taking part in the massive Kumbh Mela pilgrimage, on the banks of the Ganges River in Haridwar, northern India.

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Reasons to bathe

Each Kumbh Mela attracts millions of people, who come to bathe in the holy waters of the Ganges in order to cleanse themselves from sin. Every 12 years, Kumbh Mela is held in Haridwar. In 2010, the last time it came there, I was fortunate enough to be living in Gurgaon, a short train-ride away (well, a slow 8-hour ride).    

Inevitably, the crowds at Kumbh Mela include many sadhus. Those ascetics live simple lifestyles devoted to prayer and meditation. Many of them dress in nothing more than a shawl or blanket. A small number of them smear their bodies in ashes from cremation grounds – as this sadhu had apparently done. 

A light in the darkness

Although this ash-smeared man was one of the extreme and traditional type of sadhus, he was more responsive and open than most of his peers. As we in the illusory world of maya passed his temporary home, he was kind enough to wave at us and even strike a pose for my camera.

And with his convenient battery-powered headlamp, it seems his renunciation of the world was not total.  
Location – Haridwar, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Portrait Photography contest.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-08T12:02:30
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 700.51/800.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

These sadhus always fascinate me.

Yes, they're interesting and in some way incredible people. In a post last year, I wrote this about a sadhu that I met ....

One evening in the town of Rishikesh, just outside my guesthouse, I met a sadhu who spoke English. As we chatted, I shared some of my Old Monk rum with him, and offered to buy him breakfast the next morning. He slept in his blanket on the sidewalk outside the guesthouse (his choice), and the next morning, we met up and went to an open-air shop for breakfast.

He declined my offer to buy him food, and told me that all he needed to start his day was a nice hot cup of chai, before he got on the train to his next destination (the holy town of Pushkar). When I offered to give him a bit of cash for train fare, he again declined, saying that sadhus were generally allowed to ride the trains for free, and therefore he had no need of my money.

I never saw him again. However, as he travelled round northern India with his small bagful of possessions, he would occassionaly phone me, just to say “Hello,” and maybe to tell me where he was living at the time. I would invite him to drop in at my home, so that I could treat him to another cup of chai or maybe even a full breakfast. I would have loved to meet up with him, but unfortunately, we never did. He remains one of the finest people I met during my 4-year stay in the country.

Link to that post. ... https://steemit.com/photography/@majes.tytyty/the-colorful-people-of-india-individuals-images-and-reality

This is a very rare photograph. Thank you for showing us what the holy people in India look like. Good luck to you and Love.

Это очень редкая фотографии. Спасибо, что показали нам как выглядит святые люди в Индии. Удачи Вам и Любви.

I was kinda lucky that it was night, as the figure stands out much nicer in the dark.

Every religion havre their on belief may be they get rid from sin.This world is full of mysteries.this man is one of them.nice discovey majes.tytyty.hope you will find more mysteries persons or things for us..

I think its a very easy way to clean your sins..isn't it?

Indian culture is a very expanded and different from other countries also people of india are having different culture and belong to dofferent religion which means every religion gives its unique culture and thoughts...
Sadhus is considered head of one the religion according to him taking bath in Gangas removes all the sins...

The culture of India is vast and unique, and i beleive if something can't be found here it is really difficult to find it in any country.

This is true. Every religion, every ritual can be find in India. This country is amazing.

Ammazing brother haha

This post has received a 3.02 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @majes.tytyty.

Maya, illusion, matrix whatever we may call it, but this thing can never be fully understand. Ascetics think that not using worldly things they would be free of this world but it is their mistake. In my view even our search for God is also a part of Maya.
I am convinced that there is no motive behind the creation of this world (universe).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93