Speak up!

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Hello folks!

It had been a million years since I last posted and, I feel very bad about it. But the thing is, I have a lot in my plate. Not that I am making an excuse.

Exactly six days ago, I experienced being harassed. It came up like this: He tried pulling me toward him while telling me this twice:" I bet no one have ever kissed you before" and, I withdrew from him and told him, "No, you cannot do that to him." A lot of help had been extended and, I am grateful for it.

speak-238488_640.jpg

Looking back from my point of view, I think that I did the right thing for reporting and stopping that behavior right there and then. Growing up, I have always met people who would pass a judgemental streak on victims of sexual abuse or harassment. They can be blatant things like, it was your fault because you were wearing this and that dress or, you got too friendly or, whatever you did or say that had "attracted" them to you and, as a consequence, you got that treatment.

Yes, I was very upset about this but, this did not stop me from moving on with my life. I sometimes get into thinking that I must have done or said something that triggered the attack but, I cannot find anything. What had made me feel so safe and secure to move on with my life is that thought that I was assured of the support of everyone and, that had made me so happy.

I don't know what my life would be after this but, I certainly am enjoying doing what I am doing right now. I am always tired, I sometimes do not eat and sleep on time, I am not even paid doing this but, I have high hopes for the future and this thing that happened to me would just be one of those "blips!"

I am mentioning this for no other reason than this: the world can be a scary place. Sometimes, unexpected things happen. Speak up. Help might just be around the corner.

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

I didn't knew there were such problems in Australia... that kind of attitude is something I attribute to people with low levels of education. Not what I would expect to find in a so-called developed civilization. 😒

There will always be those people and, I believe that reporting/ talking about them would lessen the threat they present to anyone. Its simply about setting a firm boundary.

It is always important to put your limit and be proud of that action.

I think that sometimes, people overstep their boundaries because no one really tries to "draw" the line. Even in intimate relationships, there exist such a boundary so, I don't know......for me, the biggest lesson I have learned from the incident is this: always set boundaries and be firm on keeping those boundaries!

Good for you. No one deserves to that type of behaviour, at all, ever. Putting an end to it and reporting it was the right thing to do.

Indeed! Sometimes, these people rely on a victim's shame and fear to conceal what they're doing. I think he was expecting me to do the same. But, unexpected things do happen in life and, this is one of them!

Congratulations @nurseanne84! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.64% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

oh I needed to read this and liked it too.
I was victim of sexual harrasment in office and I kept quite for 2 months. Then I finally spoke up when the condition got worsened and I just could not work anymore.

Initally I felt better that I spoke up but came up is that I am passing wrong signal which is not true at all - there was a case filed and all that I won - but I was so surprused that these are not politicians who are saying there must have been something that I did - but educated people working in multi national companies - the whole episode has been a real deal for me , a lesson and lot more. At the end I got better work condition and no guy is literally putting himself on me anymore but literally people are so damn weird - because they felt challenged that this is happening at their place and any women can come tomorrow and raise a question at them. Weak pussies - most of them ditching their wives and putting on at women in office

You are right and, thank you for sharing that. yes. It gets a bit challenging especially when people will try putting the blame on you- that you were wearing this and that clothes, you were acting too friendly/flirting or they simply would rationalize/ gaslight the incident.That's one of the reasons I wrote this- its not about me. Its about others who felt threatened verbalizing their experience to others.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Dear @nurseanne84

Welcome back after a million years since you last posted. It's sad that you had to go through such awful experience :(

Hope you're emotionally feelig better already.

Yours
Piotr

Dear piotr,

Thank you. Well, this is the reality of life. sometimes, people just do not know where their boundaries are and they start doing that. But, I am just glad that I had the guts to say stop, no and don't do that to me.

I'm glad you spoke up. We are conditioned to accept this nonsense, and it's hard to say no. Excellent job.

Yes. A lot of people especially those who does these things tried to condition others that their behaviour is acceptable and perfectly normal. Guess what? Normal says no one can touch me unless I allowed them to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76