How to develop a photographic memory in 4 easy steps

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

aigh980ii5.jpg

photo source

Is there a way to develop a photographic memory with exercises, can our minds be taught a photographic memory and how far has science come in the area of memory?

I haven’t thought of this subject for years, however, now I want to start remembering large quantities of information.

In the past, I was able to bypass 6 months of school at the university so I know memory techniques work, and test out to get what I needed, by studying ways to learn rapidly. There were courses on speed-reading, which I tried a bit of because I need to cover so much material. This is good only for things you want to recall not enjoyment of literature.

In speed-reading, you increase your reading skills by covering large chunks of material at once. With practice the brain learns to do this. I also attended a “Super Learning Class”, as the instructor referred to it, with other techniques. I never checked for Photographic Memory techniques since I thought you had to be born with this ability. Like savant, Stephen Wiltshire, known as the Human Camera. Wiltshire can look at a subject once and then draw an accurate and detailed picture of it.
Stephen Wiltshire painted this from memory after a few minute ride in a helicopter over Monte Carlo.

i9cr819rk2.jpg
Source

He frequently draws entire cities from memory, based on a single, brief helicopter ride. Wikipedia

For the photographic memory post, I began perusing websites. Only to find many websites debate over any such thing as photographic memory. But I came upon “Eidetic Memory”. You may have heard of it. Surprising to myself I had never heard of Eidetic Memory so I read about it. To me, it turns out to me it is the same thing as photographic memory only with a different name. Throughout this post, we will use the term Eidetic Memory, as taught to operatives in the military for over 70 years.

Eidetic memory gives you the ability to recall from memory after only a few seconds of exposure images and text. This can help with remembering events, pictures, and exams.

4 EASY STEPS for developing a Photographic/ Eidetic memory if you chose to try it.

It takes one-month training 15 minutes per day. You have to stick with it.

  1. The room needs to be dark with a bright lamp or ceiling light. Be next to the light switch to turn it off and on, with your book. The paper covering the page in the book has to have a rectangular cut out in it to expose only a paragraph. Close your eyes and open, focus on the paragraph of writing.

  2. Turn off the light and you will see an afterglow as your eyes adjust to the dark.
    Turn the light on for a split second and then off again.

  3. You will have a visual imprint in your eyes of the material that was in front of you. Once it fades flip the light on again for a split second, again staring at the material in front of you.

  4. Repeat this process until you can recall every word in the paragraph. You will actually see the paragraph and read it from the imprint in your mind.

If you do it be sure and share your results with me.

Selecting a text to use for this technique I chose “The Dhammapada”, interpreted by Ananda Maitreya and forward by Thich Nhat Hanh for my exercise. There are short paragraphs in it. I have to admit I did not do it 15 minutes and I found myself more interested in the text than expected. I did do it a few times and it has an effect to be sure.

xvz3itswm2.jpg

1u34o67lwg.jpg

Here is the 1st paragraph in the stanza’s title Twins.

“Mind is the forerunner of all actions.
All deeds are lead by mind, created by mind.
If one speaks or acts with a corrupt mind suffering follows,
As the wheel follows the hoof of an ox pulling a cart.”

A teaching from my past with meditation to increase inner seeing where you look at something, say in the room and then close your eyes and a type of screen appears and you can see things. That works for me by the way.

If you are interested in my results with Eidetic memory exercises or have done them or plan to do them yourself let me know. Maybe you think this is all a bunch of baloney and that is okay with me too.

There is always the argument, which one of us needs a photographic memory as we already photograph everything, including our food. (A little humor.)

Here are a few source links

Steps for a photographic method: tells military method (one of many sites with the steps)
https://www.betterhelp.com/advice/memory/difference-between-eidetic-memory-and-photographic-memory/

Take test for photo memory (I took it and did pretty well.)
https://psychologenie.com/do-you-have-photographic-memory-take-test

The human camera (more info on the savant)
http://wondergressive.com/experiment-in-photographic-memory/

gfo2gzigrf.jpg


Thank you for reading
Live strong, Steem on!
@rebeccabe


9vzbb3gd9i.png

xjoc77sdn4.png

lwg0ltrl5j.png

42lt0t8pla.jpg

Sort:  

Very interesting. I got to Resteem it because this type of post need to be read again.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you I appreciate that you are interested in reading it. :)
Thanks for resteeming also.

I don't need a photographic memory, I'd just like a regular one. 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL ... right.. well, wait until you get my age. I know.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

This is a very helpful post.. Skills like this can really boast both academic and non academic works.. U get a free upvote and follow from me please do well to follow back.. Thanks

Never had a good memory, in fact it's about as bad as it can get before alzheimers

Oh, @wales you have a wonderful memory...lol

yes it is wonderful, but only works when it wants to... I think I shall resteem this post as it's a really good one...

You are a Sweetie! Thanks my friend :)

Hahah holy cow does this work?

I may have to give it a try!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey there @ekepickleman. I just discovered this two days ago. They say you have to be consistent every day. I did it the first night, then I was unable to sleep. So last night (2nd night) my husband request I not do the steps. He says I must do during the day. I am going to give it a shot. Let me know if you do this. We can always chat on discord. :)
Editied correction: @zekepickleman

Congratulations @rebeccabe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8500 replies. Your next target is to reach 8750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

That's funny, I've been thinking about this a lot lately. My memory is nowhere near what it used to be. I changed my diet and that helped a lot. I've been wanting to research this more too though. Before I changed my diet I was even considering going to the doctor to see if I could get an Adderall prescription. I just don't retain info like I used to. I may still see if I can get a prescription, but I'd like to try a few other natural things first. Thanks for the links.

Let me know if you try and how it goes. I am finding it difficult to follow the easy directions time wise. I am adapting it. Go natural.

Will do! I'm all for natural... Just tired of not retaining info :)

Very interesting. I will try this , thanks for sharing!

thank you for reading...let me know your results. :)

I have a bad habit of forgetting to do these sort of things but it is on my list of things to try as i would like to improve my overall memory skills . I'll let ya know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01