Update on the Aerogarden test

in #prepper6 years ago

So a couple weeks ago we got the smallest Aerogarden, just to test it out as a possible way to get some greens growing in the RV.

It gets pretty cold in here sometimes, so we were not sure how well it would work. We figured though, that if we could get things growing from seed here in Feb while it is in the teens and 20s F outdoors in the daytime, then we could most likely get a good salad growing.

Basil 2 19 2018.jpg

Not only is the basil growing, but we already pinched the tops to help them spread out more!

Basil 2 19 2018 b.jpg

The first pod has curly parsley sprouting...but the middle pod has dill, and we see no signs of it. I think it heard me say I don't like dill and will probably never use it. It's an emotional seed :O

Nyai put the big LED grow light up in the bathroom, and now the cactus and a few others are living in there, and Loving it! Hopefully we will get the vertical gardens up in there in the next couple weeks and get some serious herbs and greens growing.

Once the bathroom is revamped we will have a tub/shower, and I am thinking of putting up some rain gutter around the top of the shower, for strawberries and maybe grapes.

I feel like the bathroom is a very unused space if we look at how many hours of the day it is functional. In an RV every bit of space can be functional...and it will be nice to have a whole little room full of living plants :)

Next up will be some cherry tomatoes, spinach, nettles and lettuces! And then brainstorming with Nyai to transform one of the hatches into a little mushroom farm....which will require a heat source.



Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

Very cool! I have a little bonsai tree in my tiny bathroom, but I love the idea of growing some fruit in there... and everywhere... 😊

Yes, grow food :D Bathrooms make the best little indoors greenhouses :)

That basil is looking really great! Not to mention it's been grown in a van! I;d say that's a success so far! Can't wait to see how the rest goes

Yeah it is so far...I am impressed enough to get more started :) We will post updates as we progress!

Looking forward to it!

How neat, looking forward to seeing their progress! I have a couple hydro basil's in my kitchen, they are doing great with a bottom feed of water every other day. I think having the plastic bag over them helps a lot. They look straggly because I pinch off pieces for salads all the time 😊 71B02BA3-69B5-4BFB-AD1A-4A621A9F44ED.jpeg

Mmmm, I cannot wait to harvest salads...they look really great! What else do you have growing indoors?

We went with the Aerogardens because if we are mobile we can easily set the entire garden on the floor to avoid them falling...and I like hydro for indoors, because no soil, less pests and less chance of molds growing. But we will be using soil in the vertical gardens and also for carrots, beets and cukes I think (once we figure out where they will fit)

Wow nice 👍🏽I have a jungle of house plants inside. The only other edible thing I grow indoor is Aloe Vera.

How will you rig a vertical garden in the RV?

We are turning the little bathroom into our greenhouse, because it has open wall space, and is the warmest room.

I found some felted heavy vertical gardens...and will line the pockets...then add soil. There are 2 skylights in there so good daylight, and we got a large LED grow light.

I will show the progress too as we get it going. Fingers crossed it works well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61