Reverse Engineering Android Applications - [Talk]

in #programming6 years ago

I got a little bit surprised when I tried looking for information on reverse engineering android applications. Usually, I go for lectures, talks, and most importantly demonstrations and hands-on videos.

However, my search rendered so few results that I really don't know what to think. There are literally millions of applications in the Play Store, and I could bet my ass that many of them come with security flaws that could lead to potential leak of user sensitive information.

Anyway, the little information that I found and keep finding is good for a start. Since I'm interested in reverse engineering and I've been studying and actively testing it for some time, why not try to go for Android apps? I hate java and android programming, so this might be a good way to somehow go over the feeling and break the ice.

The presentation below is probably the only one available on Youtube for 2018. So, if you're as interested in this as I am, enjoy the watch!



To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

I think for something like this, you'd be better off diving in deep to web searches. It's somewhat concerning that few are probably checking these apps for security flaws...but what you gonna do?

Google doesn't even check them much unless they get a report btw.

Hmm, seriously? I though they were doing a good check for each app that goes into the Play store.

They likely scan them for known threats, but they don't even really review them most of the time. If they did, there wouldn't be so many pirate programs on the play store, and a few of the threats that have popped up over the years might have been caught.

I am as far as a person can be from app developing...................okay I am not that far. Some of my colleagues have a few decent ios and android based apps in the stores. They are nothing major but still manage to bring in a few hundred dollars a month. When I heard their nice little secondary source of income, I got excited and tried my hand on Android programming.

As you would have guessed by now, my attempt failed. Still I got to learn a few things and one of them being that I was better suited to hardware then software. My background is in electronics so I already knew that but still sometimes we need reminders :-)

Reverse engineering does catch my fancy so I will attempt at deciphering the next few minutes to the best of my ability :-)

Quick question, you've encountered the same struggle as I did when trying to learn Android Programming. I still not very good at it. How were your colleagues been able to get through the struggle? What did they do to overcome the obstacles of learning Android?

I can use an example of a friend living closest to me. He actually was a fellow student in the same class as me but his background is in computer science.

I know that his strong points are python and java but even before that he has been making apps since his school days. I think he has made several but only few has been able to pay him some money. First one to pay was a webpage and an app for checking exam scores for his university. He received one time payment for that.

He has two other apps (both android and ios) that were making him around hundred bucks a week until last year. I havn't asked him about it since........

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94