[Promo-mentors Challenge] What I would do if I had financial freedom..

in #promo-mentors6 years ago

U5dsnBumbY4sf7hEeUc9ZWfP7iVnzrT_1680x8400.png
Image source

When I started thinking about this question (What to do if I had financial freedom?) I started to think back about how I would have answered this question years ago...
A few year ago my post would have looked a lot different, because back then I did not quite understand yet, that happiness doesn't come with fancy stuff. Of course I knew you have to make something of your life yourself, but I did not experience homelessness yet back then. Therefore my guess is, that if you asked me this question back then, I would have mainly said that I would travel the world, and get some fancy gadgets first. And along the way I would have helped those in need when I saw opportunities to help.

But like I said I have been through all that and I have actually lost everything

So therefore my vision is quite different nowadays. As I live in Budapest (after we have lived in Spain for 14 months before moving here) I already have that feeling of being on Holiday sometimes when we do fun stuff in the weekends.. Budapest is vibrant and always filled with tourists.. So the traveling, I would still have on my to-do-list to do a few times a year, but I would still also want to go back home in between the traveling, because I actually have a place to call home and that feels good.

Helping the homeless in the town I now call "home"

The downside of Budapest to me is to see many homeless people on the streets every single day. I feel for every single one of them. Sometimes I get teared up because I would love to help them all, but I can't. When I do have change in my pocket, and know I won't have a problem paying for food that week, I give it away when I see a homeless person without food. Or I give food when I have something in my bag.. But It hurts to know that for every person you help, there are probably another 50 within a range of 25 meters.. Maybe even more. The metro stations are filled with people that have no place to call home. And it's really hard to see them all dirty and smelly, and most of them are alcoholics. In winter time I can't even blame them, it gets so cold here, that I understand when they find an easy way to warm themselves up. This way they will also be able to catch some sleep if they're lucky.
I promised myself that, as soon as I can, I will help those people. I even have a whole plan written down (actually more than one lol) to help them in several ways. I need to find more information by the time I am ready about how things like that work here, because I have no clue about permits and stuff like that. I would make sure they would have a place to shower, provide clothing and food and if possible some clean places to sleep.

What about others in need?

Because of what I personally have been through in Holland before we moved to Spain, and also because I have this intense urge to get justice when being treated unfair, I would make it my mission to help others in similar situations. When the moment has arrived (hopefully within a few years max) that I have cleared my name, it's absolutely time to help others with the same issues. I've always said when the time is right, I will try to help those people that are feeling the same kind of feelings I was back then, helplessness and feeling like you're alone in this world. I am (together with my boyfriend) the living example that when you live on the streets, and have nothing left but a few clothes, you can still climb up! And I would reach out to those needing a helping hand or a push in the right direction.
I would open a center here to start with, where I let people in financial problems practice on the computer, learn how to earn money with Steemit for example. I would set up some projects, and by getting to know each individual I would find the thing they are good at, the thing they probably don't remember themselves because they are treated like outlaws due to their situation.

And when it comes to Steemit

I did not forget where I got support from when I just arrived (after being absent for 6 months) and I always give back when I can to those helping me. And I would start with supporting @familyprotection big time! They have giving me great support (and still are) and what I find maybe even more valuable is, they gave me a place to speak, because of that community I came forward to share my story with the world. And I notice that I get more confident by sharing details every time I post. While I left Holland being scared of every single person, trusting nobody because of what they did to us. If you want to support a great community that stands up for families being ripped apart by Child Protective Services, please give your support to @familyprotection. The founders @markwhittam and @canadian-coconut deserve great respect for being there for families worldwide.
So when I have financial freedom, when it comes to Steemit, the first community that I would support is them. This project is personal to me, because of my story, but what they're building is great for people worldwide. The members are so helpful and share their knowledge and stories to help others.

One thing that I can't leave out, even though it's personal

When I would be in this situation of financial freedom, it would depend on this in what order I would act. If my two oldest children are still not back with my, but in Holland , I would first pay the best lawyer (or if needed a whole team of lawyers) there is to make sure we will be reunited. From there on the rest will come as it goes. If this was already the case, of course this would not be number one on my list. And probably I would travel with the children to many places in the world to teach them about other cultures and let them experience a lifestyle without stress. I want them to never have to experience what I had to go through.. I would love to show them how great it feels to help other people when you can. The feeling of giving is probably better than the feeling of receiving...

To be honest, there's so much more I would do, but my post is getting way too long. So I am going to finish here.

DQmQtNdvZfVVuSmkDBQB8m6gYTXucQ4opeRTXhTBCu1VTFR.gif

anouk1.gif

DQmQtNdvZfVVuSmkDBQB8m6gYTXucQ4opeRTXhTBCu1VTFR.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this Anouk! I would love to learn more about your situation! It seems to me that you are a strong woman and a fighter, and you can be very proud of yourself =)

You're welcome @evecab .. Since I joined Steemit I've written quite a bit about what happened to us in Holland (most of the posts are in the #familyprotection community) Some things are still too hard to share, but I'm getting there. Writing is healing for me.. Thank you for your kind comment.. :)

All it takes is a step, and a step at a time...

I wish you all the luck and help you can get... It is a noble objective you have and much easier said than done! I do not envy all that you have gone through - you do not need to go to details for me to guess. I am fortunate that so far I have not experienced much hardship in my life, of which I am thankful. I hope one day you will have all that you want, not so much the wishful but the essential. Have a good day!

Thank you.. I am glad you didn't have that much hardship.. I don't recommend it .. lol..
But how painful some things may be, and how unfair, and how upset I sometimes may get because of the missing part.. I still have learned a lot about "humans" in general and how easily you become an outlaw if you don't fit in the system anymore.. It has been a very very hard ride so far, but I've learned a lot too. So let's focus on the learning and positive side. That will help me cope to reach my goals.. Thanks for your comment, have a wonderful day too!

articles that are nice and helpful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97