You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How a chat about Coffee Beans, STEEM and a ride in a Ferrari could end up creating an international business relationship on the Blockchain!

in #promo-steem6 years ago

Not sure if you are aware of the economic in coffee growing market but in Central America there has been a switch by some of the growing to cheaper robusta beans instead of arabica bean. The reasons are two fold but basically comes down to economics with robusta being a little more profitable with a current market shortage and also because there has been a fungus affecting the arabica crops dropping production. Even though robusta is considered cheaper and lower quality, some long term growers in Latin America are switching to make a little more money in short term.
That said, a Steem brand coffee dealing directly with growers would be a huge help to those growers struggling with arabica profitability many are currently dealing with. I think coffee is a great product choice, most of the world drinks it and there usually isn’t a huge brand loyalty like you see with beer or soft drinks. I don’t personally have any contacts with any growers, but would definitely be a buyer.

Sort:  

Thanks @biga3723. Yes, I did know about the two different types, although I can't say I'd know the difference myself. My friend has said for him it would have to be Arabica coffee. I think there is a lot of potential here, not just in coffee but in tea, and other commodities too. You're right about brand loyalty not really being there. I drink the strongest, darkest coffee I can find, but I'm not that picky really about what brand it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63