How a chat about Coffee Beans, STEEM and a ride in a Ferrari could end up creating an international business relationship on the Blockchain!

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

The strangest things can come out of a conversation about STEEM....and a really fast car!

Today, my good friend Dave took me for a spin in his brand new Ferrari 488. He bought it with Cryptocurrency, which he bought last year on my recommendation. After making a cool half a million, he decided to reward himself with a nice new Ferrari. Now, don't get me wrong, he was already a reasonably wealthy individual, having built a coffee empire in the UK over 25 years ago, and he had a good amount to invest when I suggested he buy a shit ton of Ethereum tokens at $15 each!

See a video of my litte journey here on DTube:


ferrari-ride-turns-into-international-steem-business.png

As an investor, he is now completely switched on to what Cryptocurrencies can do, and has been following with no small degree of interest what's happening on the platform. He understands that I've been banging on about the potential of the STEEM blockchain for a while, and what is being achieved all over the world with the #promo-steem tag. I've spoken to him over time about the blockchain as a tool for changing the world, not just for speculating with.


So today, I took the opportunity to both get him to give me a spin in his new Ferrari, and also to talk about how he can use the blockchain to give something back to the community.


Now he's a businessman, and is always looking for a return on investment, and I explained to him that levereging the power of the blockchain could provide that, as well as supporting people in the developing world.

So here's where he got to. He would like to use the STEEM network to transact and purchase a large volume of Arabica beans, and ideally would like to do it transacting with STEEM.


This is a great opportunity for a grower in the bean belt, which includes a lot of Africa, Indonesia, Vietnam and South America.

We are then going to create STEEMBREW coffee, which will be launched at our first STEEMFAIR in the UK. (If you don't know about this, see this post from my colleague @stephenkendal)


steembrew blockchain coffee

We would like to be able to give STEEMBREW away for free at STEEMFAIR, and start a relationship with a coffee producer who understands the benefits of dealing in blockchain, instead of relying on the criminal global banking cartels to transact the business. And I see it as a way of proving that we can use this incredible platform to start making an international commodities trade happen on the blockchain.

The upside for the growers is that they will be dealing directly with the purchaser, not having to rely on middlemen who take a whopping great cut. It means we will be able to support, through the rewards pool, a situation where profit can be derived by documenting the story for other businesses to follow the model, and ultimately creates a win-win situation where everyone does very well...and it's all being transacted with STEEM!

So, I'm putting it out there today for our supporters, especially in the #promo-steem community, who may have some connection with people in Coffee growing regions to help us make this story happen.

Do you know of anyone who can help? Let's see if we can use the power of STEEM to bring the world STEEMBREW coffee!

This is a great example of how investors are starting to see the potential of the STEEM blockchain for their business activities. Imagine what will happen if instead of dealing with the ridiculously expensive, slow and corruptable transactions offered by the International banking system, they started making links with people in developing nations through the lightening fast, transparent and free to use STEEM network? That could be something that transforms the way the west does business with Africa, or indeed any country.


And this is only going to happen if we tell them about it. I know British business people who deal with suppliers all over the world, and many of them are starting to look at what happens post-Brexit (if it ever actually happens). Starting to use the STEEM platform for transactions like this is going to have a massive boost to the price of STEEM, something we all want.

If you know of Coffee Growers in Africa, Indonesia or Central America who might want to get involved, please hit me up. We really do mean to make this happen if we find the right people to deal with!

promo-steem and steem-ambassador.jpg

Sort:  

I have ties with my city chamber of commerce ill try to convince them 😀. Im excited about this, if businesses use steem then it will boost the price of steem which in turn gives everyone profit. Always amazing @anarcotech will update you tom.

Excellent @francispalo. This is exactly what I perceive the STEEM blockchain to be used for! Thanks for your help.

Im afraid we dont have enough coffee plantation in our city as well as our country, in fact because of this I figured we import coffee beans from vietnam and other country to supply our needs. Im sorry @anarcotech.

That's a shame. Well, thank you for looking into it anyway @francispalo. Do keep looking around for things that are opportunities in your country, because if you have it there, I can guarantee that somewhere in the world someone will want it too, and where there is demand there is business.

Waoooo .... this is an opportunity for me to be in this business ... because I am in Indonesia and far away my home with the largest coffee plantation in Aceh / Indonesia only 15 Kilometers. What should I do so that I can be in this section please clarify your friend @anarcotech ...!

And also I have a friend who owns a coffee garden and he is also a coffee buyer from a nearby farm ...

You could well be the go between man who starts this all off @suheri. My friend Dave moves pretty fast, so speak to your man, show him this, and lets see what we can do!

Okay master .... I will meet my friend and talk about this ... but the problem is with the government of my country who has not acknowledged Bitcoin or Steem or other virtual which is the problem how if this business is intertwined ...?

Maybe in two days I will contact you to show our Coffee ... And I must contact you to steemchat ...?

Well, I tend not to hang out on Steemchat very much. Best to send me an email to [email protected]

Woow ...
The idea is perfect, I'm from Indonesia in my area a lot of coffee farmers not far from where I live, and he has a coffee processing business his parents who currently only deal with currency values ​​alone, your idea is very interesting @anarcotech

Great news. Perhaps we need to get a chat sorted out. If you're interested, email me [email protected]

Ok, I'm very interested. This is my email [email protected]

I am interested in this deal. I'm a Nigerian (from south western part) and I have connections with coffee growers. Although, majority of them (older farmers) may not understand this kind of transaction (they are comfortable with cash). If I understand how it will go, I can invest and also find a means of bringing those I know into it. Please carry me along @anarcotech.

Hi @tpicric1. Knowing that it's now possible to convert from STEEM/SBD into Naira using steemexchanger.ng (I think that's right) directly, this could be a possible solution. I think my friend @bait002 might be able to help with this? If so, it's perfectly possible to make this happen and they wouldn't even need to get into crypto if they had someone like you to help them!

Yes thank you! Tell me what to do when its time. I just followed @bait002 as well.

I am a former coffee businessman in Indonesia, I understand a lot about coffee, I know some coffee farmers, can say they are processing coffee for my coffee shop needs. I come from Aceh, Indonesia, if you are a coffee connoisseur you surely know how the taste of Aceh coffee with its trademark. I think you should try the typical arabica coffee type of Acehnese permentation which is called Arabica Wine. If you go to Aceh, I can take you to the vast coffee plantation that won the best coffee garden award in Central Aceh precisely in Lukup Sabun. Incidentally it is my family's coffee garden, the garden there on average produces the best arabica coffee, because the land that supports with good weather, also above the height of 1250 mdpl. If you want to know more about Aceh coffee can contact me [email protected] @anarcotech

Wow. you sound like you know coffee! Please drop me an email address and I will contact you.

Thank you sir, this is my email contact ([email protected]) hope we can build a good cooperation.

Not sure if you are aware of the economic in coffee growing market but in Central America there has been a switch by some of the growing to cheaper robusta beans instead of arabica bean. The reasons are two fold but basically comes down to economics with robusta being a little more profitable with a current market shortage and also because there has been a fungus affecting the arabica crops dropping production. Even though robusta is considered cheaper and lower quality, some long term growers in Latin America are switching to make a little more money in short term.
That said, a Steem brand coffee dealing directly with growers would be a huge help to those growers struggling with arabica profitability many are currently dealing with. I think coffee is a great product choice, most of the world drinks it and there usually isn’t a huge brand loyalty like you see with beer or soft drinks. I don’t personally have any contacts with any growers, but would definitely be a buyer.

Thanks @biga3723. Yes, I did know about the two different types, although I can't say I'd know the difference myself. My friend has said for him it would have to be Arabica coffee. I think there is a lot of potential here, not just in coffee but in tea, and other commodities too. You're right about brand loyalty not really being there. I drink the strongest, darkest coffee I can find, but I'm not that picky really about what brand it is.

Wow!! Such a wonderful idea. So creative and thoughtful you duo. I am certain the idea will materialise? ?

I certainly hope so. This is an opportunity for a grower somewhere! Many years ago, my friend here went on holiday, met an Ethiopian grower, and bought 22 Tonnes of Arabica beans from him! So, he's not a small player on the circuit, and is keen to mix business with STEEM.

Wow
He should mix; it will be a profitable collaboration

Hello @anarcotech

That's a show of what you represent — Steem Ambassador — by utilizing the opportunity of being given a ride to talk to your friend on the immense opportunity inherent in steem cryptocurrency and blockchain generally. Kudos to you. I wish I could help with steembrew project but in this part of the world, coffee is not a popular staple beverage. However, I am resteeming this post for a wider audience reach. Who knows, it might just get to the right source via this end.

Upv by
@eurogee of @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

Many thanks @eurogee. I see the potential for the STEEM blockchain pretty much everywhere I go now, and I tell everyone about it.

So as me. Let's do this...

Exactly. .He's a certified steem ambassador

where people definitely need a coffee, because coffee lovers are all over the world, business is very promising

I reckon so too. Thanks for the comment!

This is an awesome idea to actually use steem as a currency in large volumes

It's such a good idea. Why deal with criminal banks to get them to spend days moving your money through their corrupt shitty system, when you can do it for free and in 3 seconds on the STEEM blockchain? Makes perfect sense to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85