#2 STEEMIT AWARENESS CAMPUS OUTREACH AND BEAUTIFUL ART DISPLAYS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF PORTHARCOURT (UNIPORT) , RIVERS STATE, NIGERIA.

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

#2 STEEMIT AWARENESS CAMPUS OUTREACH AND ART DISPLAYS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF PORTHARCOURT, (UNIPORT) RIVERS STATE, NIGERIA.

Note: If you are a newbie, and you want to be personally mentored on steemit through steemcollege, to enable you develop yourself and increase your earnings here on steemit, chat me up on whatsapp on +2348143563145 and you will be added to the steemcollege whatsapp group.

To see all about steemcollege, the benefits of joining, and how to join, check this post here

BeautyPlus_20180322174221_save.jpg

In my previous post, I shared about my visit to Rivers state University, where I introduced some students to steemit. About 15 of them registered, and are awaiting their account confirmation, after which they would be followed up at steemcollege.

In addition to the experience we have gathered here on steemit, we also guide newbies with the help of a wonderful text Steemit 101

P.S - This text was not written by us, but by @donkeypong, @cryptoctopus, @stellabelle, and @steemship.

Am really proud of the work we do at steemcollege. and we know that with time, we would become much more efficient, and also grow steemians who will in turn help other newbies to grow.

BeautyPlus_20180322160745_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180321180456_save.jpg

I arrived the highly esteemed University of Portharcourt to spread the word about steemit, trying to bring as much African students as I can to join the steemit platform.

With so much satisfaction at heart , I can say that it was a huge success. I spoke to close to 30 different people personally on the power of steemit to change their lives, especially if they had something tangible they were passionate about, and were willing to share about.

Since I was still in Rivers state, I still lodged at the Peacelan hotel. Their service was really warm and professional.

DQmNd8DP7JqdEb7RFqaJGa3htaQ4ghCmwdrn2MuenV7XdbZ.jpeg

DQmdhB8cbN7NRVuPaMvMVyAGZBegEMFo38gKc8y5ptimWLP_1680x8400.jpeg

DQmQUqXo4cknTXKt8DAM1Ex663ykfvvfHwkuJj5rzYtW5XF.jpeg

DQmPTYHij1o6TGLR1kzmr2iUkDnySDv3FveuLTEz64w9L4F_1680x8400.jpeg

As is my custom, when I get to the schools I intend to introduce the students to steemit, I select three faculties, and then focus on the students there. This helps to make my work easier, especially with the hot sun during the day here in Nigeria.

The three faculties were Faculty of sciences, Faculty of Arts, and Faculty of Dentistry.

FACULTY OF SCIENCES

BeautyPlus_20180322155320_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322174221_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322174141_save.jpg

While looking at this picture, I kept wandering what the little boy by my extreme left was looking at. Was the explanation I was giving so simple and interesting that it caught the attention of his little imagination. Or was it that the moment he heard "YOU CAN MAKE MONEY" he turned immediately, just my thoughts anyways.

FACULTY OF ARTS

BeautyPlus_20180322154721_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322154557_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322160004_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322160048_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322155945_save.jpg

We all know fine art students and their love for the open field, seems it gives them inspiration. Majority of them were out in the open, and the only way for me to get across to them was to go meet them in the open. They were really awesome, and talked about their plans to come post some of their art works on steemit. The reception was phenomenal, and some of them signed up on steemit.

FACULTY OF DENTISTRY

BeautyPlus_20180322155510_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322180603_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322180744_save.jpg

The signboard that indicated the faculty of dentistry was not well kept, so I decided not to take photos of it. But if you look closely at the building above, you will find out the there are pictures of the human dentition on the buildings.

In total, I spoke to close to 30 students one-on-one, through out my stay in UNIPORT, and about 15 registered or promised to register when they get home. I collected all their whatsapp numbers for proper follow up.

One-on-one can be effective at convincing people, but can be really stressful and slow with respect to the number of people covered. This is because you tend to explain more and answer all their questions no matter how simple it sounds.

Finally, as a lover of art, and as is my custom, after am done introducing the students to steemit, I make sure to go around the school, especially the fine art department to view the lovely sculpture and also the buildings that catch my attention (you know I wont enjoy this view alone, I must take pictures for your viewing pleasure).

Here are some really lovely photos.

BeautyPlus_20180322154220_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322154256_save.jpg

The picture above is a library in the school, Donald E.U Ekong library. It was not the building that tripped me here, but rather it was the female warrior in front of the building that caught my attention.

What was in the mind of the architects of the library when they chose to put the figure of a female warrior in front of a library building. Probably they reasoned that knowledge could actually be perceived as a weapon for conquering the challenges of life.

And I liked the fact that it was a female and not a male, showing that education empowers females, just the same way it empowers males (this is a priceless advice for all you out there who still think there is no use educatiing the girl child)

BeautyPlus_20180322154629_save.jpg

This one really got me laughing.The man in the middle is the husband of two wives, who are ready to kill each other. The one by the right is holding a pestle, ready to break someones head, and funny enough she is pregnant, while the other one is holding a kettle ready to devour her fellow wife.The husband must be really going through a lot, lets hope he lives long.

BeautyPlus_20180322155121_save.jpg

BeautyPlus_20180322155139_save.jpg

This was my best of them all. I made sure to take a front and back view photo so that you can get the real picture here. The guy standing is keeping the scale balanced, but the guy on the floor is trying to tilt it. I so love the way the guy standing used his leg to almost disfigure the face of the guy on the floor.

A lot of people are trying to bend the law to their favor, but there are also those who will do everything within their power to frustrate all their efforts, and am part of that category. Say No to injustice.

BeautyPlus_20180322154410_save.jpg

This is a sculpture of a man, trying to pull a half-split wood apart. It is an act common to those who grew up in the country side. When you are chopping wood, sometimes, you get to use your hands to try completing the splitting of some of the wood. I think its an involuntary action (who wants to waste energy spliting wood with bare hands when you have an axe beside you.

BeautyPlus_20180322154452_save.jpg

This one is obvious. Its an image of a musical note.

BeautyPlus_20180322154704_save.jpg

This image really got thinking. I was like, how can a soldier with an RPG be reading at the same time. Maybe he was reading the cordinates to be fired to or something. Well, there you have it.

BeautyPlus_20180322154756_save.jpg

This one is really common in rural areas, where you find a motorcycle rider carrying far more weight than is technically allowed for the motorcycle.Most of the time, he does it so that he would be paid the same fare for the two bikes that would have carried it.

BeautyPlus_20180322154906_save.jpg

Aha, election holliganism. The fellow above is making away with the ballot box containing voters votes. He is holding his gun high, making a statement that he is reading to shoot anyone that tries to stop him. So unfortunate.

BeautyPlus_20180322154931_save.jpg

No contemporary African art exhibition will be complete without the tale of slavery. I support that these tales be told through whatever means, to remind us of the consequences of injustice to your fellow man, and not as a vehicle to propagate hatred over another race.

BeautyPlus_20180322154955_save.jpg

This guy looked like RAMBO to me, thats why I took his photo. I really love the movie.

BeautyPlus_20180322155044_save.jpg

This one shows an African man wearing a traditional attire, and playing the African flute. At first I thought the cloth he was wearing was a real cloth, only for me to look closely and find out that the cloth too was sculptured. Good work UNIPORT

BeautyPlus_20180322155228_save.jpg

Finally, this is an image of a boxer that is furious. Look at the squeez on his fore head, I think his opponent had made so much fuzz prior to the fight, and he is ready to send him to his grave. He looks like Mayweather, only that I can't find Mcgregor.

Yap, and that brings me to the end of my steemit awareness program at the University of Portharcourt, Rivers state, Nigeria, here in Africa. Don't fail to follow me and check up on my next post, because we will be visiting the University of Uyo in our next post.

Thanks for reading.

Note: We do all this, to help support the development and advancement of both steemians, and the steemit platform as a whole. More than 50% of newbies that join steemit quit due to lack of encouagement. We are here to help them and keep them steeming. For facts on the importance of our wok, visit this post made by @arcange , which can be found here. All the best.

Sort:  

Ive join your group, follow n vote

That's great. You welcome.

What's next ?

Okay, we give personal one-on-one grooming on ethics of steemit that would easily make your comment and posts attractive to whales. We also give information on how to earn some quick bucks here on steemit to encourage you as you grow your blog.

Great bro, and i live here in Choba, lets link up then. Though you missed my the Choba Campus where i revieved lectures during my school days. Thats the home of engineering and education students. Great work bro, heres my whatsApp... 07064604181

Yah, I tried to get to Choba, but the fellows at the other campus really needed a lot of clarification, and that took a lot of time, hence hindering me from going further.
But not to worry, on our next visit, I'll make sure to alert you so we can meet up. I'll send you a message on whatsapp.
Thanks

Ok, nice meeting you bro. My first steemit friend.

Kool. That's really nice.

Nice. Thanks for your comment.

Congratulations @positivethinker! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @positivethinker! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71