You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The country of advises - stop making a fool of yourself! Long post about bipolar disorder and society

in #psychology6 years ago

Tell 'em!

Actual quote from my father "It's all in your head kid."

Uhm... duh?!?! And my head controls... All of me?!?!

I have managed to get my mental health under control without pills. My panic attacks and everything that comes along with them are few and far between now a days.

I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS FOR OTHERS.

I outlined a plan with my doctor for sustainable living without medications. I still have bad days, but they aren't as bad as they used to be. The biggest reason why I don't recommend managing without medication unless you and your doctor are both completely sure and work really hard together, is that when I'm not healthy (for example my recent bout of anemia) or other simple outside factors (starting a new birth control) can and has completely thrown me off.

Dragged me right back. I personally have never been suicidal so my risk factor is much lower, which gives me a little more room to experiment but... this is chemistry. Things like exercise, yoga, healthy foods ext can affect this chemistry in a positive way for sure... I utilize all of these things, and extensive cognitive therapy... none of it much matters when an outside factor tweaks my brain even slightly. Out the window.

Sort:  

Ah yes, yes, this all in your head. Of course it's out there! And this is the problem!
I also attend therapy, but for me it's not enough. Unfortunately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84