You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Projecting Part 2 - Manufacturing Adversity: The Projection of Ego

in #psychology6 years ago

If you mean by

"to approach the issue from a place of neutrality,"

Having no stake in the relationship or attempting to be what most people consider Objective. I don't agree. I don't think neutrality is possible in a relationship.

The place I am at is to recognize when others are being irrational usually by attempting to be the expert on what I am doing or who I am. This just makes me smile inside and listen to what is being presented to me for the gold in the chaff.

I think that if I can't learn from someone else that is my own inability and not someone else's. A truth is that knowing that you don't have to take what someone else says as the truth or as anything that you must act on is freeing. Then you can focus on the attitude that produces the most for you. It then is not about conflict, but about cooperation. Either getting it or giving it according to the advantage one receives.

Just in case you need to know. This is just my opinion and not anything that you have to believe or act on. lolol

Sort:  

Nah, it's cool, mate. It's all about the exchange of perspectives. That's what we're here to do, I think. 😉

What I mean most by neutrality, is doing so in any given moment when triggered emotionally. I mean to use it as strategy, or a tool if you will, to work through the more challenging moments in relationships.

I'm saying to adopt neutrality instead of shouting, being forceful in your opinions and defensive.

I don't mean to say be passive, rather just not to go flying off the handle when there is no need to. Be rationale, talk, reason, reconcile differences in calm manner from the neutral perspective, allowing yourself to be unaffected by your own biased thinking.

A challenge, for sure. But one that is worth endeavouring with, and I've personally experienced positive results from.

However, if that still doesn't jive with you, then each to their own as they say. 🙏

when I was a young man my mother use to tell me that I should form the habit of taking a deep breath and not jumping into an argument until I am clam. That advise has really mad a difference for me. That habit of taking a deep breath has kept my mouth shut and I suspect me out of a lot of trouble.

I think it is the creating of habit's right ones that is that keep us out of a lot of trouble.

P.s I really wasn't against what you where saying, just wanted to get my two cents in. LOL It was a nice post.

It's really fine, honestly. I don't mind whether you go against me or not. It's all healthy debate. It'd be boring if all just agreed with each other all the time, right? I just thought I could have done a better job of explaining where I was coming from, that's all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71005.71
ETH 3788.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47